We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and consistent ”
Review of Blue Water Cafe

Blue Water Cafe
Ranked #7 of 4,343 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $189
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Helmcken St.
Description: Blue Water Cafe is Vancouver's definitive destination for seafood, widely known for its excellence in celebrating the extraordinary flavours of BC. Consistently awarded "Best Seafood Restaurant" in Vancouver and recognized for its unparalleled service, an evening at Blue Water Cafe is truly an unforgettable experience.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazing and consistent restaurant. My second visit and they are very consistent and the food is amazing! Recommend to all!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank chadchann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToptableGroupTeam, General Manager at Blue Water Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Chan for your 5 star feedback.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Stephan Cachard
Restaurant Director
Stephan@bluewatercafe.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 2,989 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took some friends for a birthday dinner. Id wanted to visit for ages as many friends are regulars. The staff are fantastic and the place is very lively. In fact it isn't really possible to have a conversation with anyone unless they sit right next to you.

I feel that when I eat out I should have items are can't cook at home. So the pork cheek starters was definitely different and very good.Carrot soup average. The scallops were heavily coated in a topping in a skillet and really not good. The Polpette (meat balls) were good. The 2 sturgeons were coated in herbs which were a bit overpowering and they were overdone. The sides of fries were luke warm and full of small bits. Mushroom risotto also good.

Finishing with a warm chocolate cake was great.

Overall I found the whole experience very average and what one would expect given the set up and prices. Some good and some not so great.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Coylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToptableGroupTeam, General Manager at Blue Water Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your candid comments for us. We’re sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations on the quality of some of the dishes and welcome any further details to improve upon. We take guest comments very seriously and strive to extend the highest levels of hospitality.

I look forward to learning more if you have the time to chat.

Sincerely,

Stephan Cachard
Restaurant Director
stephan@bluewatercafe.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here after reading a few TA and other reviews.
The food and service was fantastic.
All seafood was fresh and cooked to perfection
Go early as the wine list might take about 30 minutes to get through!
We had a bit of fun watching the wait staff pour wine out of ridiculous shaped decanters
Place was busy, kitchen is open, and there is also a few food bar where you can watch Sashimi being made, Oysters being shucked and other dishes made to order.
Prices a bit on the steep side, but all dishes we saw and ate were well presented and tasted fantastic.
We had Scallops and Crab to start followed by Char and Lingfish, finished with 2 deserts and coffee.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank danrI5947KD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToptableGroupTeam, General Manager at Blue Water Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking your time to leave the 5 star rating. We do appreciate the positive feedback.

We hope to see you again soon.

Cordially.

Stephan Cachard
Restaurant Director
stephan@bluewatercafe.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went without reservation quite early for dinner on a weekday. all tablkes were booked but i was able to sit at the bar. The bar is very nice and also very nicely taken care of. Great collection of fresh pacific oysters and coresponding wines and Bartender knows what he is talking about. Had sablefish on a legume bed. The fish was as excellent.
Will definitely go again.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jeandert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToptableGroupTeam, General Manager at Blue Water Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind feedback. We would be happy to share your feedback with the bartenders as well as the rest of the team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Cordially.

Stephan Cachard
Restaurant Director
stephan@bluewatercafe.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were a big group, yet were very well looked after. Dishes arrived together and after a short wait - well done and thanks for that attention to detail.
We had a selection from the set menu, which was very good.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank tanagogo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToptableGroupTeam, General Manager at Blue Water Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind feedback.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards.

Stephan Cachard
Restaurant Director
stephan@bluewatercafe.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Blue Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing