We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far superior”
Review of Blue Water Cafe

Blue Water Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Water Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 3,751 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Cross street: Helmcken St.
Description: Blue Water Cafe is Vancouver's definitive destination for seafood, widely known for its excellence in celebrating the extraordinary flavours of BC. Consistently awarded "Best Seafood Restaurant" in Vancouver and recognized for its unparalleled service, an evening at Blue Water Cafe is truly an unforgettable experience.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Far superior”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We go to this restaurant occasionally throughout the year and every time it is a special event which empresses us each time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ehollist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,579
    466
    117
    38
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unsurpasable”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had one night in Vancouver, the last on our Canadian trip, and were advised that this was the one restaurant we should choose for dinner. It is difficult to imagine there could have been a better choice. The food, the wine and the service were all excellent. It was very busy but we were still made to feel special. It is relatively expensive but worth every penny.A memorable end to our holiday.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Austen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I will return again and again and again”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is possibly my favourite restaurant in Vancouver. I've eaten here several times, twice even while pregnant (other options are equally delicious). Last visit was with two foodie friends. Fabulously creative cocktail menu, extensive wine list, our server was wonderful and helped make perfect selections. As my friend said, "I want to eat everything on this menu." The sablefish is to die for, but everything we had (lots of sharing)--oysters, sashimi, crab cakes, sablefish, scallops--was fabulous, fabulous food. We didn't have room for dessert! Outstanding food, outstanding service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JL9033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I ate here as a member of a large group conducting a business meeting. Expectations are usually lowered when restaurants serve a large group given the difficulty of providing well-prepared meals en masse. Blue Water Café did an admirable job. My roasted carrot soap was rich and the flavours complex. The Arctic Char was cooked perfectly and sat on a bed of braised leeks and pearl couscous. The warm Cuban chocolate cake was amazingly good. Service was attentive but unobtrusive. A memorable meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Huehuetenango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best seafood in years!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This place is awesome. We were only in Vancouver for 3 nights and I insisted we go twice. Best sushi, sashimi and black miso Sablefish I've ever had. Unmitigated love.

Helpful?
Thank BentSpoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Blue Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing