We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Water Cafe

Blue Water Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Water Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 3,680 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $37
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Cross street: Helmcken St.
Description: Blue Water Cafe is Vancouver's definitive destination for seafood, widely known for its excellence in celebrating the extraordinary flavours of BC. Consistently awarded "Best Seafood Restaurant" in Vancouver and recognized for its unparalleled service, an evening at Blue Water Cafe is truly an unforgettable experience.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellent fresh sea food, I we had the artic char and ling cod which weer both delicious. Portions were a good size for those of us not used to the large platters usually served in Canada. Friendly knowledgeable waiter and good wine menu. Great decor and ambience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,503
    434
    112
    37
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good, but did not meet our expectations.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We chose this restaurant because (A) It is highly rated on Trip Advisor and elsewhere, (B) a "foodie" friend recommended it, and (C) the Hyatt concierge recommended it. So, we had some expectations going in...
The dining room was both elegant and casual - beautiful environment! The bar, and cocktails, were excellent! The service was mostly very good, but not exceptional. After a discussion with the server on selecting a wine, he recommended a Pinot Gris (which we generally like), but neither of us liked it - very odd - a lot of people would have sent it back, but we just decided to let it go. The food was mixed - some was extraordinary, some was ordinary, some we actually disliked. The trout entree was cooked properly, but its seasoning did not complement the fish - they overpowered it. It tasted more like a cinnamon donut than a fish entree. Weird.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The meal and the service were top notch. I had the opportunity to do tasting menus for the appertizers and dessert and had the sablefish for an entree, which I highly recommend. The only thing I would say is that the desserts didn't wow me as much as the seafood but by then I was quite full on delicious seafood and didn't care!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrASToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice restaurant, fancy, expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Blue Water was very good. Fancy restaurant, my husband was glad that he didn't wear jeans. The service was great. We had oysters and sushi, which were both really good. Very expensive but we also had a bottle of wine. $200+ USD for 2 people, wine, drinks, some food and dessert. Overall good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharona3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Truly memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Shared a wonderful evening with friends celebrating a milestone anniversary dinner recently. I can only think of a few meals where the service and food meshed seamlessly with the company and conversation...and this was one. Greeted and sat immediately even though we were early. Sincere congratulations conveyed to our friends. Meal served so not rushed nor waiting unnecessarily between courses. Impeccably prepared meals and a delightful amuse bouche dessert to finish the meal. This was my second visit and I hope I have the good fortune to return again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorette_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Blue Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing