We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and brunch - Surprisingly good”
Review of Beyond Restaurant + Lounge - CLOSED

Beyond Restaurant + Lounge
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Dinner and brunch - Surprisingly good”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Took advantage of a couple of vouchers for both dinner and brunch and enjoyed both meals.

Dinner was well presented and tasty with some original menu items. I was disappointed with my humpback prawns as they were small and a little flavourless, but the rest of our party enjoyed their meals. Service and ambience was also very pleasant.

Brunch was good - not extensive, but a good selection of breakfast items, salads, hot items, seafood, and dessert, including a chocolate fondue! For $25, brunch was reasonably priced for a downtown hotel, and also included coffee or tea.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScreamingBanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    33
    10
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brier, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

"beyond" has to be one of Vancouver's top restaurant. I ordered the lobster ravioli in a delicate tomato sauce and my companion had the salmon. The salmon came with the skin seared oh so delicious! I always remove the skin, but the way the chef prepares this dish, the skin is a highlight.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Sunday Brunch buffet”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice selection of breakfast and lunch items. And a great selection of desserts. Everything was fresh and tasty. Great value for only $25/person. Good service. I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mauitennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Sunday buffet in Vancouver”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We often go for Sunday brunch with the gang. No comparison to anything in the city. $25 per for an incredible selection. We went to the Pan Pacific for New Years at $90 per...no contest to the Century...well done chef.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LALK188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“possibly the worst meal & service I have ever had in Vancouver”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

On New Years even the restaurant was empty ( besides us 4- and another young couple). they had some live jazz playing and had included a glass of champage which we did not get as we left by 9:00 p.m. since the restaurant was completely empty-that should have signified something to us right away, as no restaurants were empty on new Years @ 7-8 p.m. The dinner was a fixed 5 course, at $85.00, we had 3 bottles of good wine for a few hundred more and a few cocktails. Our bill was $ 650.00. The first two courses were simple goat cheese and carpachio dishes, simple but good. The entree was Sable fish in a (tomato soup), the sablefish ( although a moist & spongy fish) was jelatinized and undercooked. It was in-edible. We asked for it to be cooked more, and the waitress took our food away only to return later to drop the plates on the table and state to us "this is the way we cook it". None of us ate it, as we could not and therefore had no entree. I cannot say in any experience that I have ever had- where a server would "refuse" to cook the dish to a customers liking, in fact I think it is pretty unheard of. No manager was in site, nor did we ever see one. This server had decided she was not going to fix nor replace our meal. We all left it untouched on the side of the table. the dessert came and was frozen. We left a complete 3rd bottle of white wine, after having a coffee, to go and find something else to eat, and some place which was more inviting,where there was some people. A bus tour did come in with an elderly group who had a glass of wine in the lobby. this was a very disappointing experience. Both couples are in our early 45-50's and are in the the restaurant business, one of us owned a chain of restaurants and one of us is a food broker. We have eaten out for 25 years, in some good, some mediocre and some fine dine 5 stars, and usually make the best of things as long as we are having a good time. This dinner and evening was the worst experience in dining we have had in over 25 years..If I was the hotel, I would lease out the restaurant and "start over" as there is some serious operational as well as food problems. My advice, not sure about the hotel rooms but-don't eat here, ever!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JForster150793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amin H, Guest Relations Manager at Beyond Restaurant + Lounge, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for your recent visit. This is not the level at which we wish to conduct our operation. Our aim is to provide each of our guests with an enjoyable meal, quality service and a memorable experience. Your comments will be passed on to the management and kitchen team to review all aspects of your visit so that we may better improve our processes. Please allow us the opportunity to follow up with you directly and recreate your dining experience by emailing us at manager@century-plaza.com with your contact details. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beyond Restaurant + Lounge also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing