We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice meal”

Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine
Ranked #120 of 3,705 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Shaughnessy
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went by myself on a business trip, and had a great lamb shank and rotti. The service was great, and the food excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RemsterAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    181
    40
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“All Dishes were Delish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

While staying in the West End we happened across the smaller more intimate Denman st location and decided to give it a try after folks exiting raved about their meal.

Not being sure what to try we opted for the $28 tasting menu. What followed was sheer bliss - 4 appetizers, 4 entrees and an outstanding dessert. That's 9 courses for $28 - how?

The Roti Canai was my favourite but honorable mention must go to the Beef Rendang, Green Beans Sambal and the yummy yummy mussels. By this point we were ready to burst but the dessert was worth it.....

We loved the intimacy of this small location (Denman near Davie). Service was great too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food!! Yummy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

visited banana leaf on 820 broadway last week, nothing to complain, big portion and excellent good food!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
119 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good service, reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The tile says it all, we had three dishes for two and found it very filling, didn't need appetizers or dessert. The food was well prepared and presented, the service was friendly and despite a very full restaurant quick.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChanteEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Egypt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
222 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“This Place will Rev up Your Taste Buds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you like Malaysian spicy cuisine, you will love this chain of restaurants. We went to the one on Denman Street. Although we got take out, we immediately noticed the vibes coming from the patrons. People were excited and laughing. One couple who was thrilled by their selection of steamed mussels in cumin and ginger sauce , recommended it to us. Not a mussels fan, we ordered the Malaysian Spicy Papaya Seafood Soup and the Kung Pow Boneless Chicken. Both were hot and spicy as we had asked, and the flavors were exciting to the palate. It is clear that each meal is cooked to order,as it should be, and nothing has been pre-cooked.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bronzebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing