We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value lunch for 2”

Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine
Ranked #60 of 3,730 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: West End
sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value lunch for 2”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Excellent Malaysian food with a set lunch menu for 2 people for $12.50 each with 2 mains, veggies and rice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tfm2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    150
    34
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Surprising Romantic Evening”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had the chef's tasting menu for less than $30 and had a beautiful, romantic evening and delicious food. I had no idea this was a bit of a 'chain' until after as we went there on the suggestion of the owner of the lodging we were renting (via VRBO.) It felt like a family-owned, independent restaurant. Some friends just went to Vancouver this weekend and I highly recommended it to them, which reminded to write this review. We actually visited in Sept 11. I can't speak for the other locations, but we loved our evening here on Denman.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TeleKelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
330 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Small, colourful, cozy and great food”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I came in here alone and was quickly seated and served. It's a small room but there about 40 seats in tables of 2 and 4. I chose the mango salad and the braised lamb, and ordered a Pinot Noir to go with. Food came right out quickly - everything delicious and very attractively served. My server was attentive without being cloying. Everyone was moving quickly being very busy. The lamb shank was served with a tangy gravy/sauce, some spinach, and a separate bowl of scented, spiced rice. Even though alone and with nothing to read, I felt comfortable and enjoyed myself, watching and listening to other diners. I think the bill was about $32 including the wine. A really enjoyable meal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

For a taste of malaysia, this was a god choice. Good service, extensive menu and reasonable prices. The oddest part though, was the jazz music piped in....didn't seem to fit the ambiance but the food made up for it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cuisine tasting”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a great combo of flavours with every dish- always. Good service and prices. Will return. recommend as someplace to tryout.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaillen_T_Wraye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing