We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the little things that count”

Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 3,706 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $74
Cuisines: European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Granville Street
Cross street: Robson
Transit: Burrard Skytrain Station. B-Line 98 on Robson & Burrard.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's the little things that count”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I took a friend for a birthday dinner to the Bacchus Restaurant last night and we were treated royally. Not only was the meal excellent, with extra little taste treats sent out from the chef, but every little detail was attended to perfectly! We were warmly greeted, served by a pleasant, knowledgable and attentive waiter, and all the courses were delivered in a timely manner. And the, without prior arrangement, the pianist struck up "Happy Birthday" and a lovely dessert was presented! Top marks!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smythlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    112
    35
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“One of our favourite restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We took a friend to the Bacchus Restaurant for brunch to celebrate his birthday. We’ve dined there previously on several occasions and the food/experience has always been excellent.

We were warmly greeted and able to sit at a table with a small “couch” on one side so it was really comfortable. Despite being full, it wasn’t noisy and we were easily able to have a conversation. Staff were all friendly and accommodating. For people with mobility issues, there are ramps and for those not able to use the stairs to use the washroom, they can take the elevator to the second floor.

Yes, it is a bit pricey but the food is so excellent that it’s worth the price. I had the smoked salmon benedict ($19.00) and, as requested, had the hollandaise sauce on the side. It came with potatoes that were tasty. My husband had the BC shrimp clubhouse ($19.00) which had very fresh shrimp, bacon, etc. and had two layers. Our friend had eggs benedict with back bacon (also $19.00). Brunch came with a bread basket that contained a variety of breads including little herb scones. Everything was delicious. They have a new dessert menu. The sticky pudding was delicious (I’d highly recommend it) and our friend really enjoyed the chocolate fondant which is like a chocolate lava cake (fondant meaning melted).

Brunch was nicely paced and it was really relaxing. The atmosphere is warm and relaxing. We’ve been for Thanksgiving dinner a couple of times and it was also excellent. I’d really recommend the Bacchus Restaurant; we’ll be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luckyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
232 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Wonderful Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Finally had the opportunity to try this renown downtown Vancouver eatery and was not disappointed! Perfect brunch sized portions, the fresh and nicely prepared dishes were delicious and fuelled us for the rest of the days shopping activities. Attentive service in a great atmosphere, we look forward to returning to experience dinner!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yukon Landcruis... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
171 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

A very nice dining experience, especially since it is so convenient for guests of the Wedgewood Hotel. Really nice to not have to go looking for a good place to eat when traveling. If you're staying at the Wedgewood before a cruise you can just settle into the hotel, relax and walk down to the Bacchus Restaurant and know that you will have a fine meal to celebrate your departure on your Alaskan cruise the next day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Just discovered this amazing gem!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I just discovered this amazing restaurant this past weekend during our stay in downtown Vancouver! We've been coming to Vancouver for almost 30 years and never even knew this place existed!! BUT now we have and we absolutely loved it!! We had just finished traveling to Europe this past September and we especially loved our time in Paris....so when we came into Vancouver, my husband wanted to keep with the French theme!! SO he did some research and came across this amazing restaurant which we enjoyed immensely!! This is now definitely one of our new favourites and we will look forward to when we can come back!
Food was out of this world...probably the best Halibut I've ever had and the Risotto was amazing!! My husband had the duck and even shared a couple of bites...so amazing!! We also started with the Tuna Tartar which came with a lightly dressed salad and little crostini's...was a great starter to share as it was quite large! We also loved the service...by far some of the best we've ever encountered in our 30 years of wineing and dining downtown! We also really enjoyed the piano music/singing, was awesome back ground entertainment and it really was very romantic!!
Can't wait till we can come again...just sorry it took us this long to find you!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing