We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - good views”

Five Sails Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Five Sails Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 3,811 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Howe Street
Transit: The closest bus stop is located at the Sea Bus Terminal at the North end of Granville Street and Cordova Street.
Description: Dramatically situated on the waterfront pier at Canada Place, this AAA Four Diamond award winning fine dining restaurant offers a breathtaking natural backdrop of the inner harbor, Stanley Park and Coastal mountains with gracious hospitality in an understated elegant setting. Proprietors Chef Ernst Dorfler and Gerry Sayers, a husband and wife team, bring years of experience to Five Sails skillfully fusing modern, continental cuisine with European influences to cultivate a memorable dining experience. Showcasing the mastery that made Chef Dorfler an internationally acclaimed Culinary Olympic World Champion, his signature mountain raviolis stuffed with fine herbs, spinach and ricotta then finished with a drizzle of hazelnut butter harken back to his Austrian childhood. The innovative "Catch!", a veritable cornucopia of seafood is enrobed in a lemongrass sauce perfumed with coconut milk and hint of chili, displays world-class passion and artistry. Sommelier, Ramon Fresneda, always brings impressive knowledge and unpretentious flair in providing optimal wine pairings from a list consistently honoured with the Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence. The gracious service and exemplary dining combined with sweeping views of ships sailing off into the setting sun is an experience like none other.
TUS
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food - good views”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Well prepared food with great views of the Vancouver Waterfront. The fixed price menu is a good buy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fly_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    104
    42
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The food, the view, the waiters, everything was perfect. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner with friends while overlooking the bay, the float planes coming and going and the sunset. All the dishes were excellent and the waiters were informative and attentive. It is not inexpensive, but well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PH2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and amazing views”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I had dinner in The Five Sails Restaurant at the Pan Pacific Hotel. We were lucky to get a reservation at short notice as it is usually booked up several days in advance. We had a seat by the window overlooking the waterfront and we watched the sun set as we ate dinner. The menu was varied but I opted for the seafood, prawns for starter and a trilogy of seafood for mains which included lobster. To finish I had a chocolate dessert with salted caramel ice cream. It was well presented and it all tasted wonderful. I can't remember what my husband ate but I know he enjoyed it very much. It doesn't come cheap but it was worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeriIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful view, go now!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

It is not often in a big hotel you will find an independent restaurant business run by a talented chef and a wonderful host/manager. The Five Sails, named after the Convention Centre roof, is that special restaurant. Located in the Pan Pacific Hotel right on the waterfront, the tables have an achingly beautiful view westward towards Stanley Park, Lions Gate Bridge, and the North Shore Mountains.
The cuisine here is well prepared and not rushed, attended to with care, and served beautifully.
The seafood is great, and from a local Vancouverite that is a high compliment. I also have sampled the beef served with artfully cut patate frites. Delicious.
For a memorable meal at a memorable location, you cannot go wrong at the Five Sails. They will also take any allergies or food preferences in to consideration. This is one of the few places I would recommend for a romantic dinner for two, or for a large party or a celebration. With the attention to detail and tremendous cuisine and service, you cannot go wrong.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenwayplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Five Sails Five Stars!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great atmosphere, view, service, food....best restaurant I ever have so far !
We went there with my two small children, they love the view, food is just too good, we will definitely go again soon in the future! down side is that their washroom doesn't have change table, very inconvience when my 11 month old need a diaper change.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ayurealme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Sails Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Five Sails Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing