We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Greek!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Takis Taverna

Takis Taverna
Ranked #191 of 3,705 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Davie Village
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Greek!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Two separate trips to Vancouver we ate there 3 times. The food was consistent, delicious and fresh each time. The wait staff are friendly and attentive. The mixed seafood platter is my favorite!
Try a pitcher of margarita they are Yummy!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fremontbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    82
    23
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“OK. Just ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Mislead and redirected. We only came in for drink and apply. They had to move us so said hey we will buy you a drink. Not a big deal to move but don't say if you aren't going to provide.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dlarocqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Greek, Best Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Do not come here for the bathrooms or the fancy decor, its all about the food and service here. The girl helping us was delightful and very warm. I was astonished when the chef recommended we change our soup order because it was not as fresh enough in his opinion. He makes everything from scratch and has a lot of integrity. I have worked in food service and if something is old, they are always pushing it to sell to avoid waste. Here, they are considered about the food's reputation first and foremost. It was a quaint, fun little stop in on our walk through the west end.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynosa, Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Everything was PERFECT!.
The service, the food, I like very much.
I think that the only downside is that there is a wait line... it's not very pleasant if it is winter time...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, cozy atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We visited on Wednesday evening June 11. The restaurant was recommended by a local. We were told the food was good and we could enjoy our meal and not be hurried.

We were seated promptly, ordered drinks and appetizers. The avgolemono soup was excellent and the dip sampler had generous portions and the piping hot pita bread was addictive. Among us we split a chicken special and the dolmades entree. Everything was well-spiced and flavorful with plenty of lemon and garlic. We also split a baklava because we were filled but wished we had ordered a second serving.

Service was attentive but not intrusive. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean2rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takis Taverna also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Takis Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing