We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome breakfast, super friendly service.”
Review of Subeez Cafe - CLOSED

Subeez Cafe
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Description: Think of us as your neighbourhood cafe.restaurant.bar in the downtown. At Subeez we make room for everyone. We do not discriminate against age, race, gender, sexuality, politics or musical taste. However, you’d better still be a Canucks/Lions fan.We take reservations for all sizes -- up to 225 people.There is a beauty here.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast, super friendly service.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Come hungry, leave happy. Super good food, nice portions, and awesome servers. Thanks Carly! Only catch is they don't open until 10am, so take your time getting there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrianChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    22
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“GREAT Place for Breakfast/Brunch!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Staying at the Westin Grand Vancouver, we asked the concierge for a local place to enjoy breakfast. Subeez was 1st out of her mouth! 2 blocks away. Very eclectic place. Waitress was FANTASTIC and recommended the Braised Beef Hash. I really wouldn't call it hash the way you think of corned beef hash. It was really more like pulled beef with potatoes and soft boiled eyes. WONDERFUL! My wife got the spinach omelet which she loved. HIGHLY recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyedoc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo BC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I didn't think the restaurant would be as nice as it was, given the name. I figured it was a 'subway' sandwich knock off. But it was cool, and had some neat food. I had a grilled cheese with cranberry chutney. And the friends I was with also enjoyed their meals. I'd give this a go, especially if you want to get away from the chain restaurants.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank holidaybound1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A disappointing return visit”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had eaten at Subeez before, and it was great. The restaurant was quite empty this time, and it was no surprise why.
Upon arrival, the restaurant was rather empty, the hostess, handed us two menus at the door and asked us to pick a table and she would bring by waters...? okay, so we picked a table, would have thought the hostess would seat you, but okay. We ordered some drinks, my guests came quickly, after a bit I was informed my wine choice was un-available, which was fine. I picked another. I I ordered a steak sandwich, med-rare, when it arrived it was blue, still cold in the middle. The waitress did not come back until my guest was done her food, and both of our drinks had been done for over 10minutes. With most of my food still on my plate, she meerly asked, just the bill then? We were very disappointed.
We ended up going down the road to Library Square Pub to have another dinner, which I would highly recommend.
We won't be returning to Subeez, and wouldn't recommend it, keep walking a few blocks to find something different.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
537 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Night Life and Good Food”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Frequently, I find myself at Subeez Cafe, sometimes to meet with friends before or after an event, sometimes for an event held in a dimly lit night scene. It's a high energy place where the food and drinks come quickly. Most of the time, we order food to be shared: calamari, tuna tatami, potato and feta spring rolls and always yam fries with chipotle aioli. There's a good list of draft beer reasonably priced.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sassamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Subeez Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing