We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at Subeez... an excellent find downtown!”
Review of Subeez Cafe - CLOSED

Subeez Cafe
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Description: Think of us as your neighbourhood cafe.restaurant.bar in the downtown. At Subeez we make room for everyone. We do not discriminate against age, race, gender, sexuality, politics or musical taste. However, you’d better still be a Canucks/Lions fan.We take reservations for all sizes -- up to 225 people.There is a beauty here.
North Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Dinner at Subeez... an excellent find downtown!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We made a dinner reservation at Subeez to eat before going to The Nutcracker at the nearby Centre in Vancouver for Performing Arts. Excellent location within the same block as the Centre and an underground parking lot!
The 6oz steak sandwich was cooked properly to medium rare, accompanied by a generous portion of salad and fries. Goodspouse says that the salmon baguette was delicious... he'd love to have it again.
The staff were courteous and attentive, and the sound level allowed us to have a normal conversation across the table without leaning in and shouting. An excellent place to have a bite to eat before heading to the theatre.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    22
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Humongous portions definitely bring an appetite”
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

I ate here recently as a friend had suggested it. The atmosphere is art deco funky. They even have irons hanging from the ceiling. Service was great. They have a varied menu including vegan options. I had the chicken and Brie sandwich which comes with half fries and half salad. The Brie was over melted on the chicken unfortunately but it was tasty and not too pricey. My only real complaint would be that the bathrooms need to be attended to more frequently as they were out of toilet paper and needed a good cleaning

Helpful?
Thank tinasimpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have gone here twice. Once late at night and once for lunch. The late at night venture was simply Nachos and they were ok. Good enough for me to go back one day for lunch. The service was terrible as there weren't enough staff to accommodate a very large table that had been seated. The salad I had was mediocre at best and the price was around $17 for it. I had a better salad at McDonald's for half that. I never went back. I think they make their money off of the bar and the food kind of falls to the side.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dana0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, BC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“bad food... worse service”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our hotel recommended Subeez for breakfast. We arrived and waited a long time for coffee to be brought. We also waited a long time for our food.The hashbrowns were cold and couldn't even get a fork thru them. One of us waited at least another 10 minutes for thier food. We sat looking at his food on the counter to be served. Almost went and got it ourselves When our bill came we were charged full price for each of our coffee refills ($2.00) Will not recommend to anyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandguy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokoroa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“30 friends arrived unannounced were seated immediately and had a good time”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

if you have arrived jetlagged and hungry into vancouver and just want to sit in a relaxed setting and have a decent meal and you are staying in town then subeez is a good start to your Vancouver experience. The Cafe is reasonably pricesd and the menu is standard. drinks are relatively cheap and the staff were cheery. good experience. te NZ girl working there also gave us an immediate sense of being home

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raukawa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Subeez Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing