We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service”
Review of Subeez Cafe - CLOSED

Subeez Cafe
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Description: Think of us as your neighbourhood cafe.restaurant.bar in the downtown. At Subeez we make room for everyone. We do not discriminate against age, race, gender, sexuality, politics or musical taste. However, you’d better still be a Canucks/Lions fan.We take reservations for all sizes -- up to 225 people.There is a beauty here.
Whistler, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant service”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Only spent the afternoon there but had the pleasure of experiencing the best bartending/waiting service I've had in Canada. Young lad, Australian and had dreadlocks - that guy is a gift to your business, hold on to him!

Nice but trippy interior, looks like you had some refurb work being done but hey you gotta do what you gotta do.

Will come back soon!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattwynne1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    22
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth trying”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We found this place whilst looking for a pizza place and ended up there because we couldn't find the pizza joint. Glad we did it. Looked more like a bar/club than a restaurant but the food was surprisingly good. Be careful what you order because the portions are huge. Well cooked though and reasonably priced. Attentive service. Too dark.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jagulon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not good for Brunch”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Went here for brunch last weekend - disappointed.

Waiter / Service - We think he was hungover. Forgot water / tea / coffee numerous times
Food - portions small. taste bland.
Price - too much for what you get.

There was 8 of us and no one raved at how good their breakfast was. Half thought it was mediocre, the other half thought it was sub-par.

Go at night for their vibe and overpriced drinks.. you'll enjoy it more.

Good brunch spots:
-Global
-Twisted Fork

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ry-bread05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lounge with music and space”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Lots of space here that has decently priced drinks if you're not looking to splurge.

Come here if you have a larger party and don't want to wait because the restaurant / lounge is huge. There's always room during weekends but it's not empty to the point where you feel like you're the only ones there. The place is dark, has a dj and cheap drinks.

Order the fries which is good 8 / 10 times. The reason I say that is because there's been a couple times they've come out cold, but if they get it right, they're the perfect lounge food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Distasteful and loud”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We gave Subeez a try few days ago and never made it past a first drink. Here's why...

The experience started poorly. The music was so insanely loud with deep bass that sent vibrations through your body (great conditions for eating) inside the restaurant that we sat outside where the passing cars on a busy downtown street were quieter and we could hear each other speak. This was the middle of the afternoon, by the way. Not late night party time.

Once we were seated, we asked for the advertised beer special. Then we waited, not forever, but quite a bit longer than you'd expect for a couple of beers. But that's not a huge issue. Just odd.

We started checking out the drinks menu for the next round when we found there was one single drink on the menu named for a celebrity. It's called the Lindsay Lohan. It's description infers she's a "sl*t" (yes, the menu actually uses that word) and ridicules her addiction illness.

This is not only distasteful but highly offensive. Interesting that the only cocktail on the Subeez menu named after a person is this one. I wonder what Lindsay Lohan has done to personally offend the people at Subeez that they see fit to defame her on their menu. My guess is they've never met the woman but just assume that meanness directed at a public figure is a great laugh. My friends and I didn't find it funny. We won't be back. We have no desire to fund this kind disrespectful behavior. Imagine how they must talk to each other about their customers. There's enough ugliness in the world that I'm not looking for more of it during what should be an enjoyable time out with friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rubix13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Subeez Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing