We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant right by Westin”

LIFT Bar Grill View
Ranked #57 of 3,778 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: by the Westin Bayshore Resort and Marina
Description: LIFT sets the stage with sweeping views of Coal Harbour, Stanley Park, the Downtown skyline and coastal mountains from the city's only waterfront rooftop deck. LIFT is located on the tranquil seawall in picturesque Coal Harbour minutes from Vancouver's financial district, major hotels and the Vancouver Convention Centre. A showcase of stunning architectural design, LIFT combines the eclectic ambiance of a sophisticated eatery with authentic, west coast hospitality. Enjoy a fresh perspective on regionally sourced specialties and the bounty of the Pacific Northwest while the award winning wine list spotlights a unique focus on sustainably produced wines. From floor-to-ceiling windows that vanish in the summer to an illuminated honey onyx bar, outdoor dining & inviting firepits, soak in the relaxed, yet elegant setting. Join us for the view, stay for the hospitality and food.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great restaurant right by Westin”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

all food great, I prefer to just have a few appetizers. View excellent - right on water, wine list good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank roxygirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    261
    84
    42
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“All flash...no substance...”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

All flash...no substance...very pretty place...very "ohhhh....ahhhhh", starting off with the iPad menus. But the bottom line is that the service and food are both below what I would expect at this price point.

This is the sort of place you take someone to impress them with the setting, and who might not have a very mature or sophisticated palate...or much experience with fine dining...

Glad we did it (nice view...), but have no reason to ever go back....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoGoBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“spendy but good cocktails”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The ipads were cute but I'd rather spend a bit less and read a paper menu. Good cocktail list, I had a drink with Elderberry a friend recommended. It was amazing! Good thing I don't live too close or I'd be going in for cocktails all the time.
Dinner was Ok, not nearly as good as the cocktail but unique and a bit pretentious. Deserts were all cold items and since it was rainy and miserable out no one opted for a desert.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Location of the Lift is one of the best in the city - coal harbor with magnificent views. We dined on the patio on the top level. Food was mediocre, service not bad, it is also pricey but our experience was unforgettable because of the beautiful setting and whole ambiance. We would recommend to visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I travel for work so I dinned alone - I wanted a great restaurant close to my hotel so after doing some research I made a reservation for 1 at Lift.
First off the menu is on an iPad - so you can see images of the food, ingredients, description and suggested wine pairing. Very cool!!
I'm a sucker for duck so I started with the watermelon salad and had the roasted duck - AMAZING!!
Service was awesome, food was amazing. view was remarkable and the the prices were what you would expect. (people who say it's over priced are not foodies who dine out often).
I only wish I saved room for dessert. Next time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank iustacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LIFT Bar Grill View also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to LIFT Bar Grill View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing