We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good but not quite like it used to be” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gotham Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar

Gotham Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Gotham Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 3,606 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $102
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Dunsmuir St.
Transit: Granville Sky Train Station is right around the corner on Dunsmuir St., just steps from Gotham's front door.
Description: An American style steakhouse and cocktail bar featuring tender steaks and stiff drinks. Gotham features soaring ceilings, sumptuous leather and velvet upholstery, private dining rooms, an award-winning wine list and exceptional service.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good but not quite like it used to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our first visit in over 12 years, closer to the time Gotham first opened, when we used to frequent quite regularly. We were happy to return and see the classic ambiance remains in true steak house tradition.

Service staff are very attentive, humorous and spot on with delivery and suggestions. We recognized more than a few who have been here since inception.

The steaks we had were perfectly cooked as ordered but the sizes have shrunk and are priced higher. Side dishes remain top notch and are always a treat, we love their creamed spinach.

Great selection of appetizers, the always good shrimp cocktail and smoked salmon was delish.

If comparing to a Steak House in major US of A city then Gotham would not come in on top but it still rates pretty high in our books. Hy's Encore is still the best in Vancouver, but that is simply because it is a place we have been going to for so long and it's our tradition.

Great wine selection, bring your wallet though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparky026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    148
    49
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
150 Mile House, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Was a bit disappointed as had such good rating. The decor & ambiance very nice & staff very attentive. There was 5 of us and we were seated upstairs overlooking the main floor which was very nice. Nice menu but extremely expensive although we knew it would be by the reviews so expected it. We started with Caesar salad with anchovies and decided to split 2 between 4 of us which was just right & one person had the small Gotham salad. I chose the lamb chops (2 ribs to a chop) and there were 3 chops for $46.95. That was all that was on the plate. All meat & vegetables were a la carte. The chops were good but I've had better. 2 people ordered the bone-in-rib steaks, one person had his done to his liking, the other asked for rare, was suggested by server to have it med rate & received med. well. Another person ordered a different cut & had to send it back twice before it came to their satisfaction. One person ordered the fish feature which was halibut & came with all the trimmings & was only $35.95. Not sure why all their meals don't come that way. Had a good wine list but again very expensive. With a couple bottles of wine included, our meals averaged out to $100 per person. I'm glad we went as we were curious & heard from friends that it was 'the' place to go. My spouse & I decided that it is not a place that we would choose to return to. Think there are other places to go for steak in the downtown area that are more reasonable & serve as good or better meals.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank barbes150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Awesome Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Gotham is a great experience. A bit expensive for dinner we went for lunch and had a great experience, upscale but reasonable for what you get. If you haven't tried it for lunch do it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had the steak and lobster. I am very lobster picky and it was absolutely delicious. Our server recommended a great french wine, which was not typical for us since we are from Northern California. Would highly recommend!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meagan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing end to a day of touring Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

So comfortable and fabulous food - we stayed at the hotel attached and it was brilliant to find this restaurant so close. Wine, food and service were just great - couldn't ask for better!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaphneG941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gotham Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Gotham Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing