We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Close to Tinseltown theatres” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Floata Seafood Restaurant

Floata Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #812 of 3,606 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
San Jose
Level Contributor
417 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Close to Tinseltown theatres”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went to an late afternoon matinee and decided to explore Chinatown for dinner. You could miss it if you didn't know it was upstairs inside a mall.

The service was very attentive. The almond cookies were absolutely delicious. We ate all of them! Otherwise, the food was okay but nothing special.

The place looked a little worn. It is definitely good for big crowds as the restaurant can be divided into many rooms.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 100countries_or_bust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    48
    26
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“very good chinatown restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been to Floata several times for Dim Sum, great. Its large and very busy so you know you've found a winner. This time, I had a dinner there. Good value and delicious. Their hot and sour soup is among the best I've had. In spite of arriving very early for dinner, the waiter was gracious. Check out the bakery on the main floor. Great buns! And one hour free parking, just take your parking ticket into the restaurant. Free parking in Vancouver??? Almost unheard of.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rvalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worse Chinese dinner I've had in a long time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Despite living in Vancouver, we seldom venture down to Chinatown to have dinner--the suburb restaurants have far surpassed our aging tourist spot both in terms of quality and convenience. A week ago, we attended a fundraiser dinner for a Chinese society. This was my first dinner at the Floata and will likely be my last. I've never experienced such an undesirable triple whammy: awful to indifferent dishes, small portions, and terrible ambiance with people screeching into microphones (talking, singing--the restaurant should've modulated the mike volume).

I won't go through my reactions to each dish, but it started off with a jellyfish & pork cold dish that had a rancid fishy taste, to a sweet red bean dessert soup-like pudding that foamed and reeked of a bleachy smell. In between were dishes that alternated between no taste or overly salty. The portions were more suited to a "dinner for 6"--our table of 9 quickly snapped up the morsels, despite the table being populated with my low-appetite in-laws and other modest eaters. (My son was to have been the 10th person but couldn't attend--lucky he didn't because he would have *starved*.)

The easy explanation would be that the place was packed that night, and it's a *very* large restaurant. But then the restaurant was *designed* to hold 600 people and food quality should not dip *that* severely just because of a full house.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Centauri27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dim Sung”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Don't be put off by Floata because it is receiving some poor reviews, it's just because reviewing a real Dim Sung place is hard. Of course the food and service are sub par, that's because the place is designed to feed an army and the typical Dim Sum service is difficult but half the reason why it is so fun. The most conveniently located 'real' Dim Sung in downtown Vancouver, try to visit on a weekend when they're busy and you can appreciate the full experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrett_Nash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“My Chinatown Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have been eating here since it opened, from Dim Sum days to elaborate special occasions, Floata always provides fine Chinese Food.
Last night was for Chinese New Year, had the 8 course meal, tip is don't eat lunch or you will never get through it all.
Be sure to tell the parking lot attendant where you are going, so you don't have to pay for parking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Franklin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Floata Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Floata Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing