We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earl's On Top

Earl's On Top
Ranked #199 of 3,678 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Robson Street
Monthey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The ambiance and food was good and price not expensive.

Really a good chain!

The place dont look amazing from the outside, but dont look a book by is cover!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    84
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not your typical chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Having just landed after a 9hr flight and not planned where we were going to dine, we stumbled upon Earl's. I usually can't stand chain restaurants, but was pleasantly surprised here. The food was great for the price and they had a good selection of beers.
The only thing that I didn't like, was the slightly over the top friendliness of the waiting staff. We get it, you work on tips, but there's no need to ask me how my food tastes every mouthful.
Overall, great place though.

Helpful?
Thank NixAm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lummi Island, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Easy to miss, but it was a great choice for lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had been to the London Drug downstairs on Robson many times, and barely noticed the stairs leading to Earls. One day we did, it was lunch time and we checked it out. I had the Poke Salad Nachos (with ahi tuna) and it was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious - macadamia nuts, avocados, serano peppers, tuna of course, tomatoes, green onions, some kind of killer sauce all atop crispy wonton half circles. I think it was about $10 and totally satisfying. My husband had an angus beef burger on a brioche bun - I had to try a nibble and it was wonderful, if you like burgers. They did a very good job with their french fries and onion rings,too. A favorite Pinot Gris was available and my husband tried a new pale ale beer (sorry I can't remember the name.)

We ate outside "on top" and it was a delightful, slightly crispy Autumn day - very comfortable. Heaters and little blankets available if you get too chilly. Inside looks very nice too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandCAT2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
196 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Avoid the Cajun Caser Salad!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

$14.99 for an over dressed soggy pile of lettuce with less than 1.5 ounces of cajun (aka burnt) chicken. You gotta to be kidding me. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattiasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good for an Earl's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I am not normally into Earl's food. But I really liked this location and it has a very good atmosphere. I would go again next time I am in the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earl's On Top also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Earl's On Top? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing