We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Lunch on the patio!”
Review of Coast Restaurant

Coast Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Coast Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 3,778 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Alberni Street between Thurlow and Burrard
Transit: 5 minutes away from Burrard Street Sky Train Station
Description: Coast is where seafood –fresh British Columbia seafood – dazzles! The freshest fish, succulent shellfish and the most colossal seafood towers are here, with the rarest, perfectly prepared oysters nestled in beds of ice, waiting for you. This is BC’s best seafood, and offers true west-coast dining, flashy and fun for every mood and every occasion.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Business Lunch on the patio!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This restaurant is my favorite place for have seafood. For lunch we started with smoke salmon flat bread, sushi & fish cones. For my main meal I had the crab cakes. Be prepare that it is delicious, but it's a small portion so I was a little disapointed as it was my first time ordering the item. But overall this is still my favorite place in town to eat seafood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Coast Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Great choices! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    455
    185
    75
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I stopped over in Vancouver for three days recently and by chance we found ourselves looking at the pavement menu at the Coast restaurant when we were enticed in by a very pleasant young girl and very glad that we did. My wife had Seafood while I tried a steak, both were absolutely wonderful.
We were even given a complimentary sweet for two which was very much appreciated, one of the staff found out that we were from Scotland and came out to catch up with some Scottish accents, all in all a very fine dining experience.
PS. Herb, your service was great along with the two girls who looked after us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ternan443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Coast Restaurant, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Wonderful to hear! Thank you for making us a part of your time here in Vancouver. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit the city. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,680 reviews
1,053 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
“Stylish, but room to improve”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Good for seafood lovers but non-fish/seafood people are poorly catered for.

Dined on lovely outdoor patio that almost got rid of the urban street pavement setting. Also, delightful server. Downsides included a too-wobbly table, unfortunately shaped crockery that meant battling to stop cutlery sliding around and, worst, presenting a customised beef tataki dish to an announced non-fish/seafood person with fish roe sprinkled all over it.

Coast replace the beef dish and did not charge for the replacement, so that was part reparation. And, the other dishes we sampled were pretty good, except a so-called twice cooked baked potato that in parts was barely cooked at all.

On the plus side, some unexpected amuse bouchée were a tasty surprise.

The overall rating therefore balances the pleasant surrounds and good service with a limiting menu and a kitchen that needs more accuracy. Cost-wise, this was in line with expectations, though surely some bread/breadsticks ought to be served?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Coast Restaurant, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi there. Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write a review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and that we were able to make up for the tataki oversight. I have passed on your feedback to the restaurant to ensure your comments are addressed. Thank you very much again for joining us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Get the Salted Sea Bass!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Ate here last night, the waiter recommended the salted sea bass. It is wrapped in romaine lettuce, the coated with rock salt and put in a egg white coating and baked. They bring it to the table cut the coating off, lift out the romaine wrapped fish and place it on your plate. Then they cut it open. It was unbelievable. I highly recommend this dish and the service was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NBTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Coast Restaurant, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
LOVE that dish! Thank you for joining us at COAST - we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“West Coast Seafood”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Excellent food and service. We loved all they had to offer. We tried the Hot Seafood Platter and shared a bottle of wine. Our wait staff recommended the crispy brussels. We had them as a side order and loved them! Must try if you like your brussels. If you love seafood definitely give this place a try. We will be back, too many appetizing things on their menu and great friendly service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BbiTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Coast Restaurant, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Excellent! We look forward to welcoming you back in again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Coast Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing