We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can not comment on the food.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of C Restaurant - CLOSED

C Restaurant
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: West End
Cross street: Beach Avenue
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can not comment on the food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I am not able to comment on the food at C Restaurant, as we never actually ate there.

My wife and I traveled to Vancouver for my 37th birthday. We made a reservation at C by open table after seeing the chef compete on Iron Chef. We were quite excited as we are big fans of the show. Shortly after making the reservation we were called by the restaurant to confirm our reservation and we were asked if we were using a Groupon. We confirmed our time and assured them we were not using a Groupon. Later that day we were called again by the restaurant and asked to confirm our reservation and if we were using a Groupon. We told them once again, yes 7pm on Sunday is when we'd like to come, and No, we are not using a Groupon. The restaurant called a third time at 5 pm on Sunday, once again asking us to confirm our reservation and to confirm we were not using a Groupon. For the third time I confirmed this with them. My wife and I discussed this and decided we were not comfortable with so many calls and such a concern about Groupons and decided to cancel our reservation and go somewhere else, as Vancouver has many other options.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank hardwoodguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    62
    34
    34
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
269 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“C's A dining experience, more than just seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

C'S is my favorite Vancouver dining experience. Truly waterfront dinning with plenty of boat traffic to view. The wait staff is top notch, let them guide you. Let them design an appetizer to suit your fancy. Cocktails are awesome here too. World wide wine list.

Both fish and meat are perfectly prepared but portions are relatively small, but its about fresh, local, sustainable. wine pairings are an excellent choice, let the chef demonstrate their skills at mixing and matching. Try the Sable fish.

Desserts are refined, try the meringue cookies.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Experience at C was a D”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Noticed C restaurant is doing another groupon offer. We purchased a previous groupon for the restaurant. Had trouble making a reservation as they only allow so many tables per night for groupon and ended up going early in the week rather than Friday night as we wanted. In the end, after wine, we could have dined at many, many other restaurants in Vancouver and had a much more enjoyable dining experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank betterway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long wait time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Barely got any service, extremely long wait time. Food was only ok. Definitely won't come back ever again. Overrated place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shinji666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We were interested in a casual meal close to our hotel. The restaurant's website listed a bar menu with reasonable prices. The reviews were good so we decided to try it. On arrival we found there was no bar and there was no bar menu. We were given regular menus and decided to stay a bit reluctantly. Our server came to our table to go over the menu with us. She told us they were featuring an Okanagan wine that evening. I had to ask her how much -- $115/ bottle!!
We each ordered mussels (replacing clams this evening) with frites and a glass of Merlot from Oysoyoos @$14/glass. The merlot was lovely, unfortunately our meal was not as good. There was a cute little smoked salmon amuse-bouche served with assorted breads and butter but the meagre dish of mussels that arrived soon after were lukewarm and what was billed as chorizo was diced mystery meat. We had to request spoons for the broth. The "frites" looked good but were limp and greasy. They were served in an awkward dish lined with paper towel.
Our server was efficient but everything seemed just ok. It was not a pleasant evening and we left very disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing