We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last night in Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bishop's

Bishop's
Reserve with OpenTable
Bishop's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 3,705 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Cross street: Yew Street
Description: Delicious contemporary local cuisine made with fresh local ingredients. The well prepared dishes and intimate atmosphere will leave you with a dining experience not to be forgotten.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Last night in Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our last night in Vancouver and we chose the best place to eat. Lovely food and wine, great ambience and very attentive and friendly staff but not intrusive. Thoroughly enjoyed every minute!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank conorbuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    53
    26
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice quiet dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Did a birthday dinner with my girlfriend here. The service and food was amazing. Very intimate. No complaints at all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadianstyle1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, if you like well cooked fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Helpful staff, who are willing to help you if needed. We asked advice to select nice wine with our meal, and got excellent help from them. Menu is not to long, but there is something for everyone. Salmon, Halibu and God were great, just perfectly made! Also home-made ice creams were delicious! Also the atmosphere in Bishop's is great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aku L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“John Bishop legend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

With the hangover of jet lag we rushed to the restaurant in a tired state . John Bishop personally greeted us at the door and immediately relaxed us on our 25th wedding anniversary. The local provedance ran through the menu which the staff introduced with a sense of theatre. The inclusion of local Cortes island oysters delighted us all. The first class service was pitched to perfection; attentive and caring yet not intrusive with John exchanging amiable banter .The fine food was matched with a great local BC Pinot noir. The meal finale was a subtle personal wedding gift. Nothing was to much trouble for this excellent team ! Keep it up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Baz118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Over rated, over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We anticipated our meal at Bishop's would be memorable, and it was, but for the wrong reasons.Although the Elk sirloin was very good, it was not $40 very good. My wife's cod was very good. The starter course we both had, the crab/potato salad course suffered by comparison with the same starter she had the night before and the placement of the crab meat on a shelf of raw celery, which overwhelmed the taste of the crab meat. But the reason for our disappointment was the 25 minute wait between the finish of our starter course and the eventual arrival at our table of our entrees. The restaurant was not full, many tables were ending their meals; in short, there was and is no excuse for this amount of time between the serving of courses in a restaurant charging prices at the level of Bishop's. Sorry, but we found the place over-rated.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishop's also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Bishop's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing