We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Classy, classy, classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's

Bishop's
Reserve with OpenTable
Bishop's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 3,516 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Canadian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Cross street: Yew Street
Description: Delicious contemporary local cuisine made with fresh local ingredients. The well prepared dishes and intimate atmosphere will leave you with a dining experience not to be forgotten.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Classy, classy, classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Fabulous food, a great wine list and completely unobtrusive service. What's not to like? I'd go back any time as long as someone else was paying.

Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    52
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Clearly deserved of its top billing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful food that would hold its own against any fine dining restaurants back at home - London. You were made to feel special on arrival and you were then looked after carefully during the meal. A small venue, a taxi drive away from downtown, but well worth the cab ride fee. The food was packed with flavour. My salmon was expertly complimented by fresh vegetables, fried gniocchi and an ingeniously created curried sauce which provided some tasty subtle undertones to the dish. One of my party had the lamb and was raving about its sauce! My cherry pie dessert was heavenly - the smell of pastry on arrival at the table won me over immediately and the rest just had my mouth watering. The sorbet selection was highly innovative and successful and the deconstructed cheesecake was authentically flavoured and highly indulgent. Overall, we were pleased to see an uncluttered menu offering a good range of food. The plates were packed with flavour and the staff gave an air of upper end dining through their attentive service. Initially we felt that this meal was expensive but if you factor out the ludicrously priced Canadian wines you will find that the food is actually quite reasonably priced! An enjoyable evening and a big thumbs up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GB_UK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious food and very romantic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Bishops has been a culinary institution in Vancouver for over 25 years and it shows why it is still at the top of the list.

The food was delicious, from the duck appetizer, to the salmon, all the way to the scrumptious dessert. The service was really good was well, very attentive, kind and informative. We got a visit at the table from John Bishop himself which was nice - he recommended the oysters, which were delicious.

Then place is not big, but it is cozy and very romantic. I would say the better tables are near the back of the restaurant, on the higher level.

Now for the not so excellent points : the white wine I personally tried was not very good, probably one of the worst I have tried in Vancouver. Also, they kept the place unusually cold, and lastly the wait for the food was a tad on the long side, compared to most restaurants i have been to, especially for the desserts - we actually thought they forgot us.

However, overall the place was fantastic! We will surely visit again in the near future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Astrobeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Culinary Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The two of us the same mains but the waiter coaxed us to try one of each share brilliant idea. Wonderful shrimp bisque. Haida halibut was done to perfection with the perfect vegs to go. But the best part were deserts chocolate pot and rhubarb shortcake. I will have this on the top of list next time I am in Vancouver.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FromToronto2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
209 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice night out, food was fine, service was friendly but a bit forgetful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Four of us had a nice dinner at Bishop's. The cocktails were tasty, the wine selection was good, especially the selection of British Columbian producers (although the selection of vanity French wines was pretentious to the point of silliness). The room was pleasant although a little chilly on the evening of our visit. We chose between lamb and Haida Gwaii Halibut both of which were excellent, and nice starters with tasty freshly baked breads. Our server seemed to forget about us at times, but when he remembered that we were there he did his job well. Over all a nice night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishop's also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Bishop's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing