We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas are plentiful - but remember, they're TAPAS.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bin 941 Tapas Parlour

Bin 941 Tapas Parlour
Ranked #130 of 3,498 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Davie Village
Description: When you come to Bin 941, expect the unexpected!!! Life is short, so we’re only serious about a couple things; good food, good fun and good times. A Davie Village landmark for over 17 years, Bin 941 is a cornerstone in Vancouver’s West End neighbourhood, specializing in New York-style tapas cuisine and unique wines by the glass. Our gallery-style interior and open-concept kitchen brings the chef to your table, indulging patrons in a full experience for the senses It’s no secret that many first dates and romantic evenings start at Bin 941. Whether you’re with your hubby or a group, we guarantee dinner with us will be an experience you won’t stop talking about. And Yes, we are not Traditional Tapas; We are innovative “Tapatizers” !!!
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tapas are plentiful - but remember, they're TAPAS.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Three of us visited this restaurant around 7:30 on a Sunday night and were seated promptly. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable. Our beverages came quickly, despite the fact the restaurant was busy. She gave us time to enjoy a few sips of wine before coming back to collect our meal orders, so we didn't feel like we were on the fast track "get 'em in, get 'em out".

Something she told us up front was that the dishes come out one at a time. Because they're tapas, they are designed to share, so ordering your food like you would in a traditional restaurant doesn't work well unless you don't mind watching each person eat their dinner in turn. (That's where the wine helps!)

We ordered hummus which came with this puffy and addictive bread. We followed with scallops, mushroom risotto and flank steak with frites. Easily enough in each to share for 3 people.

The music is loud (which makes me officially "old") but it's not annoyingly so - you know, not the kind where you better know how lipread or it's going to be a very conversationally arid evening.

Good beats, good food, good service. Share nicely and you'll have fun.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JDBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    74
    21
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great, but a bit pricey and on the small side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Based on a recommendation from our friend we decided to pop by this 'tapas' restaurant.

The atmosphere was really nice in the front part of the restaurant. The middle or back of kitchen walkway towards the back was reserved for waiting \ bar space.

This was the back of the kitchen that was separated by a fake wallboard. The place is really small , width wise, and therefore understandable that it was not the best part.

However they gave us a spot at one of the boots which was still small but cosy.

The drinks were nice (their own version of Sangria is pretty good) and so was the food. Portions were pretty decent and it was for sharing - although one could argue that tapas are small dishes and usually plentiful, this version was smaller portions , shareable but good food.

Definitely the food was great but one might not be satisfied with the amount of food / price ratio.

Still , I would recommend to give this place a try out as it is a pretty decent place to visit.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tleegstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredible Flavors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The most amazing food combinations. The menu is fantastic and every dish we have tried has been wonderful - great imagination. The flavors in the plates all go together. Obviously a lot of testing and tasting have gone into the combinations. The service is very warm and friendly as well as knowledgeable. The least expensive bottle of red wine when we were there was $50 which we found a little steep. It would be nice if they had a few bottles of red wine that were less expensive so we could go more frequently.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaureenL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A small restaurant but is packed with character. The atmosphere is fantastic and the food is outstanding! We wanted to try everything on the menu and will definitely be back to work on that! A great place share a nice bottle of wine and sample some of the best tapas around. We had scallops which we both agreed were the best we've had. Perfectly seared and seasoned.We then had to try the beef Wellington and were not disappointed there either and finally after taking a break on eating we couldn't resist trying the lamb. My oh my, it was so tender and good. I wish we could have eaten more because watching some of the dishes that were going to other tables I wanted to have them too!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dockgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Really gone downhill, over charge waste of money with rude mgt.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Used to come here every single week. Food is now awful. They've also raised the prices. Sad when an old fave deteriorates like this. Wonder if management and/or chef has changed. i know Bin 942 closed recently and can see this going same way, particularly if they continue to cram folks in as they do forcing the poor waitresses to bump almost every customer. Don't waste your time or money. Dreadful experience all round.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kitsilano73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bin 941 Tapas Parlour also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Bin 941 Tapas Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing