We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good to excellent hotel in the self-described boutique category, it would benefit from better staff training.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“A good to excellent hotel in the self-described boutique category, it would benefit from better staff training.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

I liked best the hotel's location, its peace and quiet, and its able manager. I liked least my wife's encounter with a rude front-desk clerk. The manager, to his great credit, set things to rights.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,914
    370
    50
    9
    3
See reviews for
292
1,136
157
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Went to the Loden this weekend for a girls weekend away.

Rented a one-bedroom suite and were very pleased with the great living room suite. This allowed us to have enough space to catch up in the privacy of our own room. The bathrooms are great with beautiful showers.

The hotel staff made a great dinner recommendation which we appreciated. While it was a little outside of downtown, they recommended DB Modern Bistro, which provides you with a taxi voucher back to the hotel. This restaurant was a great change of pace and we appreciated the tip about the taxis voucher.

We will come and stay with the Loden again next time us girls meet in Vancouver!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

I stayed at the Loden hotel for the first time last week. When travelling on business, I have always stayed in Vancouver's many 4 star downtown hotels. After reading all the positive reviews, I thought I would try something new.

I found this hotel to be a refreshing change to some of the other more stuffy hotels. With polite and attentive staff to assist you and a warm greeting at check in, I was impressed.

Although you have to pay for internet at the Loden, I was pleased with its speed and how user friendly it was. It made working from the hotel room, which had an amazing view by the way, simple and relaxing.

Because of the rain I did not get to run the sea-wall, but to my surprise, I found out the gym in the hotel was amazing. Too have such square footage and choice of machinery in a hotel facility is impressive.

Hopefully work will send me to Vancouver again soon, as I have found my new home-away-from home at the Loden. I think for business travelers or anyone traveling to Vancouver, this hotel offer something for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

Based on the glowing reviews in Tripadvisor, my husband and I chose the Loden Hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. After the wonderful service we received at the Italian Kitchen from our server, we were on cloud nine as we headed to the Loden for a one night stay sans kids.

We entered the lobby after dinner and there was one gentleman ahead of us. As we waited our turn, two other men came out from the elevator area and stood off to the side.

After the gentleman in front was served, the male hotel clerk did not even acknowledge our presence or the fact that we were waiting in line ahead of the two other men and proceeded to assist the two men.

We would not have been insulted if the clerk at the very least acknowledged our presence and asked if it was ok for him to quickly help those two men who had budged in front of us, but he didn't.

To say the least, we were insulted. This stay is our first and absolutely last time at the Loden.

Other points to note:

We agree with other reviews about the bathrooms, the sinks are not well designed, water splashes out everywhere, the decor is very dark, and the air conditioning very annoying and loud.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthBurnabyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

Overall our stay at this hotel was very good. The hotel is in a fantastic location, has a very clean and nice rooms, and an attentive staff. There are also nice little touches such as ice delivered to your room, free london cab in downtown area, free bicycles rentals, etc...

There were a few things that could be better.

There were a few hidden-misrepresented prices of certain things. When I made a reservation on the phone one of the gentelman I spoke with highlighted that $15/night parking in downtown was a big benefit of the hotel. I agreed with that, however when arriving at the hotel, I learned parking was $35/night + parking taxes which made it nearly $50/night. A huge difference from what I was told when making the reservation. The second item was the breakfast package. We called down a few times to find out what the package included and never got a straight answer. We specifically asked if we could get the breakfast in the room and what was covered by the package. The answer was anything from the breakfast menu. Well that wasn't quite accurate, only 1 entree + 1 drink was covered. So if you got a side of fruit, or a coffee, those were extra charges. This is very easy to explain, just tell is 1 entree + 1 drink - but somehow the front desk staff wasn't clear on it. It did seem like they were training new front desk staff, so that might be the issue on both these items.

The last complaint I have is although the bed is wonderful, and we slept very well, my wife got itchy due to the sheet configuration. There is a fitted sheet with a down comforter directly on it. There is no top sheet between the comforter and the fitted sheet. As a result if you are sensitive to down feathers, it can get itchy. We were there with friends and they said they had the same problem around feeling a bit itchy in bed.

Although there were a few gripes that I have listed above, I would recommend Loden and probably stay there again. It is one of the nicer hotels in the area and overall our stay was postive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omszz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

Another great stay at the Vancouver Loden. General Manager Michael Love leads an excellent team of friendly professional staff, the rooms are comfortable and well equipped, the location is within walking distance of all Vancouver has to offer and the added safety features including key cards required for elevator access make this hotel an excellent choice for single travelers. I will always choose this hotel when staying in Vancouver. Thanks to Stacey the Lead Concierge/Guest Experience Assistant and Marc the Guest Experience Manager.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalibuStace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

This is a great hotel - modern, conveniently located and with very friendly people. In particular, Sarah helped us a lot with what to do and see, bookings, local restaurants (Coast and The Italian Kitchen), shopping etc. Stacey was also a great help. Complementary local car service and Wi-Fi was also excellent. We highly recommend the hotel. Even if the people change we hope The Loden keep finding such friendly and helpful team members.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Property: Loden Hotel
Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LODEN is your Vancouver home. The perfect city sanctuary for pleasure, business or the two in harmony together. Feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL within a downtown residential neighborhood. Let us take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing