We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed the quiet location”
Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Creston, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I enjoyed the quiet location”
Reviewed November 9, 2009

If you have business anywhere between Burrard and Denman this new Hotel offers a great location. It is on a quiet street was only a short two blocks for me down to the seawall and very close to the Burrard Skytrain. Some of there fixtures are more form than function, including a bathroom sink and clock radio that are poor designs but the bathroom spout was one of the coolest things I have seen.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,013
    393
    53
    9
    3
See reviews for
307
1,192
163
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Perfect Location (near the water, Starbucks, restaurants/bars and shopping), modern rooms, great price, gym was awesome and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous. I could go on and on about it, but I'm not as eloquent as the previous advisors!

We were blown away by the service, the quality and the location of this hotel. The staff were outstanding, the room huge and beautiful and any room where I can sit in the deep bath/tub and still see the television AND hear it because of speakers in the bathroom is pretty impressive! The separate toilet is great, the bathroom wall opened up to the bedroom area, which was nice, and the sofa in the corner of the room was just great for lounging and reading by lamp light.

The access to the business center was a nice touch and as we had a lot of things to organise for the rest of our holiday it was much appreciated!

Great location, beautiful room, wonderful staff- if you need to stay in Vancouver you can't go past the Loden.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank merri175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at the Loden and were quite satisfied. Room was modern, as the hotel was only one year old. Service was superb, we were offered help with bags, but declined since we could manage on our own. We also thought we lost our camera at one of the restaurants that we went to, and they offered to call them for us since we were heading to Seattle that day. They informed us on our cell phone later on to tell us the whereabouts of it! Great service.

Had breakfast in Voya, their restaurant. Very pricey, but very very exquisite! Had their french toast (which was out of the world) and their big breakfast (at $17!!), but was one of the yummiest one ever. We just didnt want to go anywhere as it was a Sunday and were preparing to go to a wedding after that.

Amenities were nice. We appreciated the office offered. We could use their computer, internet access, and printer as well. We got directions to places we went there. There's an Enterprise around the corner, but we opted to rent our car elsewhere.

Neighbourhood is what I appreciated most. It's in a very quiet and residential area, very removed from downtown core. But there's still coffee shops and sushi places around. Though they dont open on weekends because they still cater to the working crowd.

Also beware that in weekends, their lounge/restuarant (Voya) is packed. It means they're doing a great job, but towards the end of the night, it also gets quite raudy.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpli18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Fantastic rooms. Chic and compact with lots of nice amenities. Great location in downtown Vancouver. Great bar area and restaurant. Staff are friendly and helpful. Stay here!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Over the top ambiance, amenities and staff. Four Star, but felt like "Five". Loved the thick robes, slippers, contemporary decor and luxurious feel. Exceded our expectations for the cost. Will recommend to all of our friends and families visiting Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verlinda-California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

The hotel is relatively new so there are a few kinks that still need to be worked out...the disconnect on rates among the website, the reservation desk, and the front desk was extremely irritating - initially booked online 2 months out, 3 weeks before, I checked rates on line and they were cheaper. I called the reservation line to have them switch me to the new rate, they transferred me to the front desk, the front desk couldn't find the rate, and so on and so on. I spent about 20 minutes going around in circles on this. Was finally assured the online rate. But when I checked out, they had me at a higher rate than either of the ones I had booked!!! They definintely need to pull it together. Also, on arrival, upon inquiring about the possibility of rain, one of the front desk staff quipped that if we wanted nice weather "we should have stayed in San Francisco"!!! Other than those issues, as far as the hotel itself, I liked the spa like boutique-y feel, the bath products were spectacular, the bed was very comfortable, and the 2x day room service was spoiling! I may try somewhere else the next time though - possibly the Shangra La.

One other thing is - why charge $20/day for wireless internet. Seems like a silly nickle and diming on a $300+ room

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet_DeFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,890 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,725 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 90 in Vancouver
1,668 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Property: Loden Hotel
Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LODEN is your Vancouver home. The perfect city sanctuary for pleasure, business or the two in harmony together. Feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL within a downtown residential neighborhood. Let us take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing