We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Hotel in Vancouver, BC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel in Vancouver, BC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

From the time the courteous valet opened our car, we knew that we were in for an extraordinary treat. Staying in a hotel is not typical for us when we travel - preferring to stay in B & Bs, where one can inituitively expect a certain degree of personal service and charm. The Loden Vancouver delights us with its unsurpassed level of personal service and for a hotel situated in the city - surprisingly delivers on a charm uniquely its own. They key to its success can be simply summed up as: "To provide an unforgettable customer experience". And as a result of a single-mindedness approach to this mission, it does everything well: from the way its staff - including the valet and housekeepers, greet you by name; the zen-like quality of its tastefully-decorated rooms, to the thoughtful courtesies you receive each day. I will make it a point to stay at the Loden everytime I am in Vancouver, for business or leisure!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venturer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,856
    362
    48
    9
    3
See reviews for
280
1,112
156
575
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

Really! Normally, I don't even write reviews (I only read them) but this place definitely deserves the review. The staff was amazing!! Such nice people - I'm not kidding. The people at the front desk (who worked there on 9/4/09!) and at the door & restaurant - thank you for making our stay wonderful!

The hotel is immaculate, the rooms are beautiful, modern, (the bathroom was spectacular!), clean, great quality sheets, comfortable beds, flat screen tv, even umbrella & yoga mat! If you have an opportunity to stay there you should definitely do it. Vancouver was wonderful altogether but the stay at such nice place (what we normally don't do) was just simply this last perfect addition to our already great vacation! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelopa159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

My husband and I traveled to Vancouver to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We selected the Loden based on tripadvisor recommendations and the hotel's website. I considered the Opus, but thought the restful ambiance the Loden seemed to exhibit suited us better. We were not disappointed. As suggested by others, the staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. Our room, the least expensive, though not huge, enveloped us the moment we walked in. Lots of light, comfortable bed, elegant bathroom, plenty of storage for clothes, flat screen tv, docking station for our ipod, and a window that opened, all combined to create a lovely hotel experience. The exercise facility is fine, although I would have preferred more weight machines. Overall a great experience.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mamaduckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed at the Loden for 3 nights after getting a great deal on their own website through a link form Travelzoo. Right from the greeting at the front door, everything was perfect. The staff are extremely freindly and the room layout is fantastic. This place deserves it's number 1 ranking on Traipadvisor. The location is also one of the best. Close the the beautiful waterfront and close to Robson St. Don't consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droppin' some NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

Thanks to a good internet deal, we decided to splurge a bit and stay two nights at the Loden on a recent trip to Vancouver. What a great choice! We loved the hotel---chic decor, friendly staff, great location. Just two blocks from the sea wall, 15-20 minute walk to Stanley Park, to Yaletown, and just a few blocks off of Robson. I hope we get a chance to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetiteSyrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

We arrived at the Loden in the early morning of August 21 and were immediately welcomed by the professional friendly front desk staff. Thankfully our room was immediately available as our family was exhausted as we had disembarked from an Alaskan cruise earlier that morning. Our family of four (children ages 15 and 6) stayed in a spacious room (#1205)with two queen beds. The room's design had very clean lines and arguably the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in! Although the bathroom did not have a bath tub, the shower stall was spacious, and my wife enjoyed the heated floor and always appreciates the quality toiletries (Molton Brown). I also appreciated that we had a window that could be opened and the peek-a-book view of Coal Harbor was nice.

Can't say enough about the wonderful front desk staff....just warm, friendly and knowledgable. Took care of our special needs (when we informed the front desk that there wasn't a DVD player in our room for our 6-year old son to watch movies, one was installed with an hour) and we were always greeted with a smile as we passed by.

The restaurant, Voya is not to be missed.. Restaurants that look cool and hip and catering to a young clientele, usually offer food and service that falls short and in many cases fail miserably. That is not the case with Voya. The cooking is well prepared....not too fussy but creative without being over the top. The kitchen is clearly working with quality ingredients (excellent ceviche, bison, veal cheeks) and the kitchen crew is top notch as the taste is excellent and the presentation definitely adds to the dining experience. The service was not always perfect (e.g. water glasses went unfilled, finished plates lingered a bit too long on the tables) but that said the friendly and GENUINE nature of the wait staff more than made up for any service glitches.

We were debating between staying at the Loden and the Shangri-La but decided on the Loden because of our preference to stay at smaller boutique-style properties. I've stayed at many deluxe hotels (e.g. Shangri-La, Four Seasons, SLR) but when you stay at a smaller property that "gets it", it's hard to beat. And the Loden does get it....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

Very impressed with this hotel. We arrived in the middle of heat wave and it was the perfect place to chill out for a couple of nights whilst exploring Vancouver.
This is a design conscious style of this hotel, and I half expected the staff to be aloof and pretentious. However, it's actually a design conscious hotel with delightful staff who really helped us to make the most of our short stay with recommendations, float plane bookings etc. They also have a couple of bikes which can be reserved and borrowed for a few hours (no charge). These were perfect for exploring Stanley Park and covering some ground. The hotel itself is set back from Coal Harbour, easy walking distance to shopping, the new Convention Centre, Canada Place etc
The room didn't disappoint either. Clean and comfortable, great bed, big flat-screen, stunning bathroom. I can't comment on in-room internet because my laptop didn't make the trip. There's free access in the business centre downstairs though. There's also an impressive gym, which I completely failed to make the most of.
All in all, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Property: Loden Hotel
Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LODEN is your Vancouver home. The perfect city sanctuary for pleasure, business or the two in harmony together. Feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL within a downtown residential neighborhood. Let us take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing