We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Loden”
Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Luxurious Loden”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Loden Hotel 25-12-2013

We were very pleased with our 5 night stay at the Loden Hotel. David was very accommodating at the front desk reception upon check-in. He was helpful, professional, and could not do enough to make sure we were happy and comfortable. Shawn in concierge and every single staff member at the Loden was just as eager to make our stay relaxed and worry-free including turn-down service at night to directions in the morning, every single person was awesome.
The rooms are fantastic. Clean, modern, functional and luxurious are the best description I can give. We would definitely say her again. The location is perfectly located between the waterfront at Coal Harbor and the shopping and dining on Robson Street. Stanley Park is close by and you could definitely ride the bikes in less than 5 min. to the park. Gas Town is within walking distance as are many restaurants and shopping options that are also close by. The Loden taxi (no charge) is available most of the time if you don’t want to walk or drive. Morning coffee and tea are available in the lobby, late into the morning. This makes a chilly, drizzly day much brighter. If you like Asian food try Hon’s on Robson Street for a real authentic experience. Overall we are happy we chose the Loden, I would highly recommend when visiting Vancouver.

Room Tip: Higher floor is always good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNtraveler1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,959
    384
    52
    9
    3
See reviews for
300
1,161
159
619
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great location! Within walking distance to several fine restaurants and coffee shops as well as the ocean. Rooms are very modern, clean, and comfortable. Staff was great. I would consider staying here again, but great service can be found at less expensive establishments too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great hotel and staff. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Rooms are modern, well decorated, comfortable and clean. Feels like home.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.

No negative things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelLover2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Very clean. Well designed. Bathrooms were particularly cool how they were laid out. To respond a few comments I read in other reviews; the bathroom is totally private. You can close off all the doors that lead to the bed/living room area. Also, the TV was not that difficult to deal with. If you like very clean, modern and an upscale feel you will enjoy staying here. The onsite cab is handy as well but you need to book it as its not always available. Its in an area where not very many immediate stores are tho so had to walk about 5 minutes for a convenience store. View is just of residential building. Room was spacious enough but not huge. While I thought everything was fine, I'd probably give someplace else a try next time.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToughGuyTuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our first stop as part of a 2 week Western Canada adventure, and we weren't disappointed! From the minute we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome and were even given a complimentary room upgrade for my wife's special birthday.

Our room was fairly spacious, with a very comfortable large bed, and quality toiletries in the bathroom. We could just about see the harbour from the room, but suspect you've got to go higher than the 10th floor to really get a decent view.

We borrowed the hotel's bikes for a couple of hours on one afternoon and cycled around Stanley Park - you need to book these in advance, but they do have a few so it wasn't really a problem. They supply helmets, bike locks and a couple of bottles of water too which was a nice touch.

The Loden also has complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning for guests which was nice on our walk out to breakfast each morning.

The hotel is in a great location, being just a few minutes walk from Stanley Park, the Harbour, and the downtown shops, bars and restaurants. We decided to take the train from the airport, as it's only a few blocks walk to the hotel and in the sunshine really quite straightforward (I think we were lucky with the weather though!).

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, and likely to get less noise from the street (not very busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyDinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This boutique hotel was terrific from check in to check out. The staff could not have been more attentive or helpful. We spent 7 days in the hotel and loved the location - close to convention centre, Stanley Park, Gas Town, etc. They offer a cab to take you anywhere within a ten minute drive. There are also bikes available. The weather was cool and rainy and the hotel had umbrellas for you to take as needed. Fresh coffee in the lobby, a Bistro Restaurant- excellent-,macaroons as a welcome gift -so many small details that made you feel special.
I would suggest that the coffee be available all day long since there are no coffee makers in the rooms. The restaurant could have longer hours. The tv system is frustrating and incredibly slow to manage changing channels. We did speak to staff about this but… there was no solution-perhaps in the future this will be addressed. Since we weren't there to spend our days watching tv, no big deal but we did think it was strange for a hotel to have such a poor set up. Highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fvtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Thanks so much to the staff at the Loden Hotel. The room was beyond expectations. The staff offered their knowledge of the area and were ready to give any help to us when needed. The facility was lovely and very quiet and had a great location to the downtown core.
Only suggestion would be to possibly have the dining room open earlier than the 5:00pm opening. Check in is at 3:00pm and we were hungry and would have loved to sit down for an appie and glass of wine before going out later that same evening.
Would return to this place in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,652 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,845 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Property: Loden Hotel
Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LODEN is your Vancouver home. The perfect city sanctuary for pleasure, business or the two in harmony together. Feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL within a downtown residential neighborhood. Let us take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing