We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for sightseeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location for sightseeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were extremely happy with this hotel from the minute we walked into the slick reception area. Then were very satisfied with our room and size of bathroom which was all immaculately clean. Only disappointment was there were not many restaurants in immediate vicinity, but as the hotel restaurant "Tableau" was such a trendy place to eat, we were happy to eat there both nights, but a booking was really necessary as it is so popular with after work crowd. Staff were all helpful and quick to provide umbrellas for the unexpected rain. A great location for walking and sightseeing and we would go there again if in Vancouver.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BINA481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,913
    369
    50
    9
    3
See reviews for
292
1,135
157
598
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludiak
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I decided to stay at the Loden for a get away weekend with my boyfriend and I was very impressed and pleased with everything the hotel had to offer.

The location was great - it was central, but not too central, meaning that it was rather quiet considering it was downtown. We had no trouble getting around as it was walking distance to just about everything. The hotel has a great little British taxi cab that they will use to transport you to the train station for free. I really enjoyed riding in it.

The hotel staff was very sincere and accommodating. Normally hotels of such a caliber have a pretentious air about them but there was nothing like that at the Loden. Even the staff in the restaurant was great too and I highly recommend the ice cream sundae and the amaretto sour egg cream. It was glorious! The fresh baked chocolate chip cookies we ordered for room service were wonderful too.

The room was spacious and was very modernly decorated. The sheets were SUPER comfy, something I really loved and appreciated. Huge floor to ceiling windows flood the space with lots of light and provides great views of the surrounding area.

My only big issue with the hotel was the bathroom. Don't misunderstand, the bathroom was beautifully appointed with modern fixtures, soft towels and was immaculate. Opulent tiles are used in every square inch of the space. The bathtub is very deep and luxurious too. The problem comes from the lack of sound proofing. There's a sliding wall between the bathroom and the bedroom that you can slid open to get more natural light and access another mirror. However, inasmuch as it provides a more open feeling for the room, it also makes the bathroom less private. The toilet is in a little glass enclosed room. Unfortunately, because of the glass and the sliding door, whatever you do in there becomes rather audible and there's no fan or other way to shield those sounds from permeating the bedroom. For some this could be a bit intrusive. Just keep this in mind if you're not staying there alone.

Room Tip: HVAC is a bit noisy as it cycles so bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The TV remote was slow in reacting to my commands.
I Was not so pleased to see my name on the screen as I was unpleased to get the title of the movie I was watching from the middle (feature available on HDMI antenna programmings.)

The smell - I assume English Leather deodorant - was bad! Recalled me toilet smell.

I would rougher have a cafe machine instead of a bottle of wine (free? not free? - whatever...)

However room-service was more than good...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Horia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My first time at this hotel and I plan on using the Loden again for all my future business trips. I was very impressed by the attention to detail in every aspect. The hotel was immaculate, quiet, a boutique hotel that caters to both a leisure and business setting. I would strongly recommend this hotel not only for the quality service and stay but it offers good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had the best experience with this hotel. I travel regularly and this was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The customer service was outstanding and the rooms were great. The rooms were very trendy and fashionable. The employees were very helpful and went out of their way to answer questions and make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time at the Loden Hotel and we are sure to return. We have visited Vancouver many times and this boutique hotel has it all. From a great and helpful staff to the lemon and cinnamon water in the lobby, to the London taxi and free bikes. Great location and very nice room. Oh - and did we mention the helpful staff. A great, well managed hotel with amazing attention to detail. And self service espresso in the lobby.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KandJSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

amazing city all one needs is location and service....and you get all this and free bikes with Loden! No need to look elsewhere, room was spacious, bell and front desk service fabulous! Bell stand directed us to wonderful eats nightly.

Room Tip: BIKES make this the choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Property: Loden Hotel
Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LODEN is your Vancouver home. The perfect city sanctuary for pleasure, business or the two in harmony together. Feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL within a downtown residential neighborhood. Let us take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing