We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Loden has just become my favourite hotel in Vancouver!”
Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Loden has just become my favourite hotel in Vancouver!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Loden. Loved it and will definately stay here again. Great location central to everything downtown but has the advantage of being on a quiet street. Great staff, lovely crisp rooms, wonderful restaurant A gem for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ampy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,078
    406
    58
    9
    3
See reviews for
322
1,224
165
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful stylish property in a great location.

The rooms are wonderful and fresh as are the bathrooms. (Including the ability to open a window. A personal favorite.)

The staff are friendly and helpful and seem genuinely anxious to be of assistance.

We had a room booked back in Seattle as Vancouver was "supposed" to be a diversion. We booked a second night immediately.

It feels a little hollow not to have found a flaw. But the place was great, and an awesome value as well.

Fantastic!



  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My now husband and I recently spent our wedding night at the Loden and were very impressed with the experience. The room was beautiful, the staff were very friendly and attentive, the adjoining restaurant is AWESOME, and we were even pleasantly surprised by a complimentary newlyweds gift in the room. I would definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Again The Loden Hotel has given us number one service and added so much to a memorable week in Van Couver. Not only were the rooms welcoming and relaxing the sevice was exceptional! We also can't find words that describe the delicious food & drinks we had at the Tableau Bistro. Wow. . .Chef Mark, you and your crew (including your great bartenders) out did yourselves again!
I don't know how you can find such dynamic group of emplyees that work so well together and go out of their way to serve the customer. . . We thank you so much for the best week ever. . .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra1946_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Loden has made my future hotel selection in Vancouver very simple. I need not shop around. There is now only one hotel for me!
I stayed with my partner and two friends of ours, in a Suite, as part of my birthday celebrations. We visited from London.
We loved the modern decor in the room, the floor to ceiling windows, the incredible bathroom, the Nintendo Wii complete with Wii drums and Wii guitar, the Nespresso machine, the ability to pump music loudly into the subtlety lit bathroom whilst getting ready, the stunning views and the free wi-fi.
When outside of the room we loved the modern gym, the complimentary printing facility for our homeward bound boarding passes, the funky lobby, the delicious flavoured water in carafes at reception, the complimentary loan of bikes which came complete with helmets and a chilled bottle of mineral water, the complimentary use of the funky Loden liveried London taxi, the iPad loaded with local information, and the Tableau bar where we ate one superb meal and hung out a couple of times with Cocktails talking to the friendly wait staff.
The hotel staff are in a league of their own. Our every whim was anticipated and catered for with minimum fuss and extreme speed. The phone never rang more than once and when required a staff member was on hand within 2-3 minutes. The gents on the door greeted us with welcoming smiles and a friendly chat each time we passed through reception, and the receptionists themselves were all an absolute pleasure to chat to.
We were particularly touched that the receptionist who made our evening meal reservation notified the restaurant ('Coast', a superb Loden recommendation) that it was my birthday. This resulted in an extra warm welcome and a slab of chocolate cake with candles at the end of our meal - what a surprise.
On the last day of our trip we checked out on time at 12:00 but our flight didn't depart until 22:30. After a long day of shopping in Downtown we arrived back at the Loden around 18:00 to collect our stored suitcases, and gratefully accepted the offer of taking turns to use the excellent gym shower facility - which is beautifully appointed - prior to departing to the airport. To board an 8 hour flight so late in the evening but feeling fresh and clean meant a lot to us and was gratefully received.
The Loden specialises in friendly, personal, understated service. I will most certainly back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have just completed a three night stay at the Loden Hotel. It was a fabulous experience. The rooms are delightful and the food and drink at the Tableau Bistro was delicious. We attended a Bachelor Party Dinner in their private dining room and it was probably the best meal of my life.

The hotel is located in a great part of downtown Vancouver and within easy walking distance to many shopping and dining establishments. Hotel also provides complementary bicycles for use in the city, a great feature.

Will definitely stay there again upon our next visit to Vancouver.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Vancouver, what an awesome and interesting city, made even more enjoyable by our stay at the Loden. The staff was helpful, took us on several forays in their two London style taxi-cabs, and lent us bikes for a great ride around Stanley Park (not to be missed). Our favorite part of the visit was being centrally located to the variety of activities, neighborhoods, and transportation options the city has to offer. The rooms were really nice in size and design, and quiet in a very urban setting,

Recommend the Loden highly, we hope to stay there again soon....

Room Tip: Nice views from the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpellersick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,010 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,661 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,814 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,722 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Property: Loden Hotel
Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LODEN is your Vancouver home. The perfect city sanctuary for pleasure, business or the two in harmony together. Feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL within a downtown residential neighborhood. Let us take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing