We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway”
Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful getaway”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a great weekend in Vancouver thanks to all friendly and welcoming staff at the Loden. The rooms are fantastic and the hotel is very well located. We really enjoyed our dinner at their restaurant Tableau.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amylou222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,008
    392
    53
    9
    3
See reviews for
307
1,191
162
633
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have now stayed at the Loden twice and dragged a motley selection of bags as well as my bicycle to the door both times - and they could not have been more welcoming. The front of house staff become familiar faces and they are always happy to help with anything you could possibly want or need (including storing a messy bike multiple times!). They have bikes to use also in Stanley Park or around town which is fantastic if you are visiting from abroad. The guest rooms are gorgeous with floor to ceiling windows (which can open) and views of either the city or the mountains of the North Shore. The bathrooms are spectacular, with deep lounger baths and separate showers. The restaurant, Tableau, is lovely bistro food and serves a fabulous brunch, and food is also available for in-room dining. Sadly I am now moving to Vancouver, so will not need a hotel very often, but when I do, it will be at the Loden.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

fantastic hotel. Everything was beautiful, staff was very nice and helpful and lots of great services were offered. I would highly recommend this hotel. Don't waste your time with the stuffy, big name hotels. The loden has it all and does it better.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous9563248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
1,097 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I could write my whole review aobut the bathroom. It has sliding doors. It is huge. The lighting is magnificent. The products are Molton Brown. The toilet has a separate enclosure. as does the shower. The tub is so deep that even with a waterfall spout faucet it takes forever to fill. The rest of the room is nice too. two closets. lovely sitting areas.We checked in 5/23 into an 06 room and have lovely views. We walked everywhere but the hotel appears to be in more of a business district than some would prefer. The turndown service, room refresh is a cut above as well,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

What a lovely hotel the Loden is. All the staff are friendly & helpful. The bedrooms are everything you would expect from a Boutique Hotel, lovely bedding & a fantastic bathroom....the bath was so so deep & we loved the floor to ceiling window's which actually opened! Nice to get real fresh air. The Loden is in a great position, we were able to walk everywhere. We walked to the water taxis & took one to Granville Island which was lovely, we ate lunch in Whet & I would recommend that. The hotel offers free bike hire for 2hrs which we took advantage of to cycle round Stanley Park...very enjoyable. We also took advantage of the hotels free downtown taxi drop off they even dropped us at the station to get the sky train back to the airport. Tableau Bistro is the hotel restaurant, we ate there on our first night & it was excellent. Bob was our server & could not have been more helpful. The barman was also very good advising on wine & I noticed he was looking after all his customers. Tableau also does breakfast but there are lots of places serving breakfast near by & Starbucks is next door. We would definitely recommend this hotel & stay here next time if we are lucky enough to get a chance to visit Vancouver.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bella10262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The property is tucked away on a quiet street in downtown Vancouver yet within walking distance of everything including Vancouver Art Galley, Bacchus bar, Denman and Robson restaurants, Stanley Park etc. The hotel itself exudes an understated style, and the bathrooms were a unique and beautiful configuration. My partner who is an interior designer, could find little fault with the palettes and design choices made on the property.Beware of the waterfall style tap in the tub that had a potentially dangerous protrusion. The room was cozy, the staff unobtrusive but responsive. The attached Tableau restaurant and bar was wonderful too. Being a Vancouverite and knowing many of the best restaurants in the city, the Tableau was a new discovery that was delightful. A little bit of European inspired charm in Vancouver. If I stay in Vancouver again the Loden will be on my booking list. We did have a bit of AC noise but I loved that the windows opened. Use of hotel Loden taxi and on site electric bikes, though we did not use them, was a nice added touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Loden is a hotel that is beautifully appointed with excellent staff and service. The location is walking distance to the Pacific center, Stanley Park, Robson Street, and Davies. Excellent restaurants nearby include Stephos (Greek) on Davies and Joe Fortes (seafood). The restaurant at the Loden is very well reviewed however it is closed on Sunday and the quality and choice on the menu is not recommended when the restaurant is closed. I would go back to this hotel the next time I visit Vancouver

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticogillani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,886 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,718 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 90 in Vancouver
1,667 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
3,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Property: Loden Hotel
Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LODEN is your Vancouver home. The perfect city sanctuary for pleasure, business or the two in harmony together. Feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL within a downtown residential neighborhood. Let us take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing