We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Boutique in Vancouver”
Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Agoura Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Boutique in Vancouver”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I had never been to Vancouver before and were very much looking forward to the Loden. Rather than try and write an elaborate story, I'll get right to the point.
The staff was very friendly and very helpful (as are the Canadians in general). They gave plenty of great suggestions and confirmed our previously made reservations were solid. They gave us a ride wherever we wanted to go, whenever we wanted to go, like a taxi. I ended up tipping them more than a cab ride would have cost, but they were worth it.
The hotel itself is stylish, comfortable, quiet, and small in feel - like a boutique hotel. It was in a very nice, quiet part of town, but close to everything. Vancouver is a small town and you can walk the entire city in a day. Not crowded at all, we barely bumped into anyone the entire stay.
Complimentary Espresso every morning and from what we heard, the restaurant there is top notch..(didn't eat there). My only caveat is that we went in January so it was not expected to be crowded. I'm not sure if the service is the same in the summer, but it seemed like we met a new staff member every day of our stay. The rooms were very nice, well equipped and comfortable with great views. One of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on in a hotel. Water pressure in the shower was lacking and the sink / vanity area is a little cramped for two people...but still nice. The only other thing the hotel needs is a hot tub...somewhere...anywhere

Room Tip: Get the room that is one step up from the standard room...better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWS067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,013
    393
    53
    9
    3
See reviews for
307
1,192
163
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was VERY impressed over the weekend with the quality and service standards of this hotel. I booked a catered dinner in the Grand Salon for 10 and then stayed the weekend in one of the suites on the 14th floor.

Dinner was absolutely amazing, the food was divine and service impeccable. The staff really care about the guest experience and my guests were truly impressed. The wine pairing aspect of the dinner demonstrated superior wine knowledge while keep my friends and family engaged.

This hotel is absolutely stunning and I would recommend all aspects of the hotel (catering, restaurant, hotel rooms, fitness facility) to guests both local and international.

Room Tip: I had a suite on the 14th floor... it was STUNNING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinMazzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Although we only staied the one night I wanted to give special thanks to Adrien Litargne for setting our stay up on such short notice and to just the front desk staff in general.

The room and service was great it always is, this is probably the 7th time staying at the Loden; it's always a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Tourist or resident - this is a amoung the best treats for yourself.

To be honest, I hadnt heard of The Loden till this stay. My girlfriend booked this stay as a surprise for both of us and was I so happy.

Once you walk in - you are greeted this modern and warm lobby that boasts large comfy couches with decor that immediatly soothes your eyes. You are then greeted by some very friendly staff.

THE ROOM .... you will be amazed how the rooms are so elegant and spacious for a small boutique hotel. The colours are rich and cozy. The bathroom is somewhere you will really want to spend some time. With seperate glass shower and soaker tub and a massive sliding door that slides to open the 'room' up to enlarge the space. Surround speakers fill thes the entire room and bathrooms with your selected music and TV programs.

THE LOCATION.... the hotel is centrally located in downtown that everything is walking distance. i will say though if you are driving there for the first time you might drive right by it as its tucked away right beside a large parkade but once you spot it, you can't miss it. i will also recommend ctaking their free Courtesy Taxi with their friendly staff. But honestly, you can't beat the location....

TABLEAU RESTAURANT.... this is the hotel's restaurant which is a little bistro just attached from the main lobby. We had a breakfast here and it was really good as well. For a little bistro, it had a open contenetial breakfest buffet as well you can order a la carte items that were all fresh, cooked to order, and the coffee was fantastic. I would recommend the restaurant as well.

OVERALL... the staff are wonderful, the rooms are beautiful and careful designed with thought of luxary and comfort, centrally located and just such great value for downtown Vancouver

Room Tip: Request a room facing west
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a great stay at the Loden Dec 27th-30th. We had two rooms, one on the 5th floor and one on the 14th. We were travelling with a toddler and a teenager ...The rooms were amazing with floor to ceiling windows, very comfortable beds and heated bathroom floors. The staff were wonderful ... Adrien A+++ ... Jill A+++ ....and so on .... a warm welcome each time we returned to the hotel or walked past reception, always friendly and the lobby felt like home ...umbrellas were a nice touch ... The morning Nespresso machine in the Lobby was awesome, Starbucks for breakfast was a 1 minute walk away, Urban Fare for lunch or snacks just 5 minute walk, Robson Street for supper and shopping was a quick 7-8 minute stroll up Bute Street, everything we needed was within walking distance. The Gym was well equipped and had state of the art exercise equipment .... excellent facilities ...

French Onion soup at Tableau ...the best !!!

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Lower floor was quieter ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJay_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here a few times now and yet again, exemplary service. Lucky to have stayed in many high end hotels around the world and this is up with the best. Nice boutique style hotel, very personal, very friendly.

Doorman, pops up as your Courtesy Taxi (London Taxi) driver and again to deliver ice to the room. Room is modern, clean and well appointed.

They were happy to ferry us to our chosen restaurant that night and even pick us up.

We didn't try the lobby restaurant this time as we have found the menu to be a bit lacking, but that really is the only fault. This is an automatic choice for us for a 'treat yourself' weekend in Vancouver from now on

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andybee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Loden is a five star boutique hotel. It's quaint, quiet, romantic and comfortable. It's home to a very trendy restaurant and bar (not as quiet as the hotel but the standards are just as high). Located on a quiet street in a very nice part of the city. Walking distance to some of Vancouver's best restaurants and shopping. The room prices reflect the quality. Sweet dreams!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,890 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,725 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 90 in Vancouver
1,668 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Property: Loden Hotel
Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LODEN is your Vancouver home. The perfect city sanctuary for pleasure, business or the two in harmony together. Feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL within a downtown residential neighborhood. Let us take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing