We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not expensive; very clean shared bathroom.”
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #85 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The location is good (downtown), but the building is old, dark, with no elevator. So if you have big luggages, ask them to stay on first floor. The staff is very kind and friendly. The room is average: small, a little dark, comfortable bed, TV, fridge, wardrobe, big window (without good view - to the street), and a washbasin. It´s not comfortable to have the bathroom out of the room. But it was impressive, the shared bathroom was always very clean!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 99 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here 3 nights a week for 3 months and cannot say how impressed i was. OK, so it's not a top class hotel, but for $40 out of season and $60 at peak in a downtown central location it is a steal. The rooms were basic but always clean and the staff were very friendly. I wouldn't say it was a family hotel (though one of the other reviewers said they brought their family and it was good) but for a young couple or someone traveling alone, I think this is probably the best place to stay in Vancouver. I never heard much noise from the bar downstairs and frequented it quite often. Their jalapeno beef dip is gorgeous washed down with a cold guinness. I went out for walks down Granville St to Canada Place or across the bridge to Granville Island in the evening. Neither was too far but the bus service stops outside the door, or there is the skytrain just round the corner on Davie if you want to venture further afield. It could be quite easy to find fault with this hotel if you are used to staying at the Fairmont or the Hilton (I've stayed at those hotels too), but for a basic backpacker style hotel this can't be beaten.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngusKWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I just wanted a cheap single room for one night. I paid 84 CDN which didn't seem cheap, but probably was good value for downtown Vancouver.
It was a clean basic room with a comfortable bed, TV, fridge, basin, and wi-fi. Bathroom and WC are down the corridor - quite a long walk from some rooms. The bathrooms are clean and newly refurbished but there are only 2 showers and 4 WCs for the whole floor.
Location is excellent. Lots of restaurants nearby. Bus stops right outside, Skytrain a few blocks away.
If you just want basic accommodation, this place does the job, but it's not a luxury experience so don't complain that there is no elevator, no air-con and no en-suite facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Argeebee1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I really liked this place. It was fun...prices normally around $89 per night plus tax...if you go to booking.com you can often get a rate of $59. For downtown Vancouver that is an outstanding rate. The only thing that is a non refundable rate. I asked them to change the dates and they did that for me at no extra charge..but that is not quaranteed The place reminded me of an upscale youth hostel. Rooms are modest and you share a series of bathrooms with other guests. There are plenty of them and there are toilets by themselves and the shower area is a small bathroom with toilet and sink and kept very clean..no hair laying around in the shower. My room was nice..no air conditioning but a fan and a sink and small refrigerator. There is also a larger general area to prepare food with stoves, refrigerator and eating utinsiles. Parking can suck as the slots are small and if you have an intermediate car or larger it may not fit..trucks can forget it. BE CAREFUL of parking on the street. If you do not pay attention you think that you can park for free after the meters expire. Meters run from 9am to 10 pm and if there is a red stop sign with a slash running through it that means your car will be towed after 10 pm. If no sign you can leave it for free over night.
Another big plus is that it is half a block from Starbucks or immediately across the street another coffee house right on the corner with good wi-fi open till midnight..great people watching and great baristas there as well.. Major popular night clubs only two blocks away that if you are 20 or 30 you will love. lines running outside to get in.

Room Tip: only down side is no air conditioning so when you leave your window open it can be moderately noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twsplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a double room which was perfectly adequate, but by no means plush. This hotel is basic and seems to fall somewhere between hotel and hostel. When looking at Vancouver prices it's actually good value for money imho. We had a decent TV, fridge and sink in our room and used the shared bathrooms down the corridor for shower/toilet. There was also a communal kitchen for us to use with microwave and hobs. The second floor had a large sofa and TV and was a good place to relax outside of your room. The staff were helpful enough although we didn't use them very much. Location is pretty good for local bars and you're just 5-10 mins from Robson Street and other shopping/eating areas.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I booked a couple of nights at the hotel ambassador and I was really disappointed. The staff on reception were really helpful and friendly, however my room really smelt, and everything felt a bit grimey and old. It was very hot in vancouver whilst i was there, so i was glad there was a fan in the room. however this only worked when the light was on- so not ideal for hot nights! Sleeping with the window open was a no go due to street noise and noisy restaurant/bar kitchen fans next door (also adding to the stinky greasy feel and smell of the room). The bathrooms are shared and they were very clean and pretty spotless. Towels in the room changed daily. Had it been cheaper I would have accepted the fact you get what you pay for, but it was too expensive for what it was - a smelly room, no lift for luggage, no fan/air con, shared bathroom and street noise. I relocated to the samesun hostel after the 2 nights i'd booked and at half the price i had a room with air con, free brekkie, good bathrooms, and a clean and quiet room!
Perhaps other rooms at hotel ambassador were better, but from the experience I had I wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louloubells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel twice (2012 and 2013) for two nights each with my child. It is a great location, you don't need a car (little paid parking space behind the building (not guarded -$17 per day)) because you can just walk/bus anywhere you like. We came from Vancouver Island and stayed in Vancouver to have some fun. There is a large playground/grassy area just across Davie Street. Lots of small grocery shops around to get yourself some food and the Hotel has a Kitchen with Stove, Fridge (in your room) and a kettle and microwave. The staff is super friendly and the rooms are clean. The bathroom is shared, but its clean and if you leave it as you want it to be when you enter, then there is no problem,
I think it is more than a hostel but less than a hotel. Great price, great location and what do you want more!

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room (as the outside fans are quite loud). There is a good wireless connection if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gelapopela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
431 reviews
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#82 of 92 in Vancouver
1,805 reviews
West End
English Bay Hotel
English Bay Hotel
#77 of 92 in Vancouver
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#79 of 92 in Vancouver
676 reviews
West End
Gec Granville
Gec Granville
#65 of 92 in Vancouver
216 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#70 of 92 in Vancouver
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: 1212 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1M4, Canada (Formerly Hotel Granville Grand)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $67 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ambassador 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent,convenient location on the central nerve of the scene, this stylish boutique hotel offers clean, comfortable accommodation at great rates. The Granville Grand Hotel, Vancouver's newest boutique hotel. Offering European-style accommodations at budget prices, and located in the heart of the Vancouver's downtown entertainment district, the Granville Grand Hotel is the perfect choice for travelers looking for a quality stay at a budget price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing