We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came for a family wedding and this was the icing on the cake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Granville House B&B
Ranked #28 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Although Granville House was quite far from downtown Vancouver, friends and family lived nearby and some within walking distance. However there is good public transport in Granville Street. Other family and friends stayed there as well which made everything more fun. Randy and Pam made us so welcome and the breakfasts were an experience! A bonus was its proximity to YVR for our return trip to England.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p_fife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 164 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2010

The Granville House B&B was fantastic, no question. It is right on Granville Street, which is the closest thing to a highway that Vancouver has running through it, but it manages to be impressively quiet. We were even in a room at the front of the house facing the street (the Cedar Room), and it was quiet. Breakfast was delicious every day. There is always granola and oatmeal available, if you can't make the official breakfast hours. There's also filtered water available, as well as hot tea and coffee. Randy is always around during breakfast, and he is quite welcoming and quick with activity & restaurant suggestions.

The fact that it's on such a major thoroughfare does make getting around very convenient. It definitely made our lives easier since we were there for a week and only rented a car for 2 days. From the airport, it's about a $20 cab ride; about the same from the B&B to downtown. The #10 bus stops regularly about half a block north of the B&B (requires a bus pass or exact change in coins), and it continues to run late at night. (Late night stops are less frequent - about once every 30 minutes or so, I think.) And of course taxis go by constantly, so that's always an option. The South Granville area is only about a 20 minute walk away, but wear comfortable shoes.

We really appreciated the key-less entry and flexibility it allowed for check-in/check-out. The free wi-fi was also very nice, as was the list of recommended restaurants that was in the room. Oh, and the bed was very comfortable. I slept like a rock every night we were there.

All in all, I would absolutely recommend Granville House to anyone who is going to Vancouver; especially if you don't want to stay in a hotel. Check their website for specials, and feel free to ask if you have any specific questions about it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

From making the reservation to leaving the B & B we experienced first class and personalized service. The suite and the amenities were incredible - spacious and high quality. Breakfast was excellent. Randy offered the best advice re: local travel, places to eat and things to do and see. Great Value and a real winner!!!!
P.S. We left something in our room and they were most helpful in sending it to us.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freez3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

This B&D is simply great, conveniently located just outside Downtown Vancouver, in a peaceful, and beautiful neighbourhood very close to some beautiful parks. The room is perfect, luxurious and spacious while the breakfast is tasty and just right to get you started every morning.
Randy's tips are invaluable and will help you to get around and get the most out of your trip to Vancouver: from discovering the culinary delights to exploring the heart of the city, and the region overall.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

This is an excellent choice for someone visiting Vancouver and wishing to be very close to downtown but yet in a quiet world of its own. The neighborhood right behind the Granville House is simply stunning, and we'd recommend anyone staying at this boutique B&B to spend time walking the quiet streets tree lined streets. The houses are magnificient and their gardens something to make you misty-eyed. This area is where a lot movies have been filmed, and it's easy to see why. Downtown Vancouver is and Granville Island are a very short drive away, but they are much more fun to visit if you're willing to walk perhaps 45 min or so to get there.

Our room was upto 5 star quality, and the bed among the best we've ever slept in. We've traveled extensively in every continent, typically looking for upscale B&Bs (or sometimes high end hotels) and the Granville House didn't disappoint. The breakfast is a serene experience in a beautiful dining room, and everything we ate was very good. Extra kudos from us to Randy, our host, who is knowledgeable and admirably patient even with the 'never can be pleased' guests you'd throw out of your own house after the first hour.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwitravelduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed two nights in the Granville B&B at the start of our holiday. The room was large and luxurious, with a very nice bathroom. We enjoyed the personal touch at breakfast, with very helpful tips for our visit to Vancouver!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuintenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Very conveniently located, near all of Vancouver's fabulous restaurants and places of interest. Beautiful room with large, luxurious bathroom, every amenity, fabulous breakfasts, and if you want something different, the hosts oblige. We were sorry to have to leave for home.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank immerminna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Little India / Punjabi Market
No photo provided
White House Bed and Breakfast
#26 of 54 in Vancouver
6 reviews
South Main
No photo provided
Parkview Queen Guest House
#22 of 54 in Vancouver
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Point Grey
House On Dunbar B&B
House On Dunbar B&B
#20 of 54 in Vancouver
70 reviews
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#35 of 54 in Vancouver
197 reviews
Shaughnessy
Hycroft Suites
Hycroft Suites
#27 of 52 in Vancouver
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville House B&B

Address: 5050 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 3B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: $138 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only 2011 Canada-Select 5 Star B&B! Built in 1997, this Shaughnessy mansion was renovated in 2007 to provide modern romantic luxury in Vancouver's wealthiest neighbourhood. We provide free on-site parking, WiFi, local & long distance calling. Time sensitive door codes provide hotel security & allow access convenient to you. All suites have king bed, 32" LCD TV with free HD programming and luxurious en-suite bathroom. Enjoy pressed linens, Hutterite down duvets and pillows. Room controlled Air Conditioning, fresh air exchange and heated floors. Deluxe breakfast buffet included, from 5-11am (hot dish served 8:30-10am). Vancouver's largest B&B breakfast area with 6 individual tables. Extremely central, on Granville Street (& 35th Ave), steps to transit, 5 minutes to downtown, 10 minutes to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Granville House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville House Hotel Vancouver
Granville House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing