We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come home to Granville House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Granville House B&B
Ranked #22 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Come home to Granville House”
Reviewed December 4, 2008

Granville House provides all that you can desire. The suites provide privacy and understated elegance that allows quiet and reflection. It is situated in a lovely part of Vancouver, easy to find and provides off-street parking. Shopping and all the amenities are nearby for those who enjoy downtown. Parks are also close by.

The hosts, Pam and Randy Vogel, are available for all your questions and give clear directions for finding your way around the area. I loved the breakfasts, delicious and served with a flair. Great hot coffee in the morning and 24 hour tea is available, served piping hot.

I stayed in the Alder Suite which is upstairs at the back of the house, All the rooms are bright even on the grey days and have new and comfortable furnishings. The bathroom is delightful with jacuzzi tub and glass double shower (containing a built-in bench tile seat). All to please the eye and the senses.

And, the bed is the best... amazingly comfortable with fine quality bedding and pillows. You will not be disappointed with your stay. I will definitely come back and you will too!

  • Liked — Location, common areas, quality surroundings, huge walkin closet
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonBC_Bound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    24
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
18
97
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

This was certainly an OK place to stay for a few days while visiting Vancouver. In my opinion, however, it's not worthy of the 5-star rating it boasts of.

The owners do a good job of communicating with guests and supplying check-in information, including personalized electronic codes for entering the building and the room. This is certainly convenient, but it comes at the cost of the personal attention I've come to expect when staying at a B&B.

We've stayed at many such establishments in the U.S., Canada and Mexico over the years and this is the only place where nobody was around to greet us or to say good-bye when we checked out. They did make sure we had phone numbers to contact them in case we needed something, but it wasn't the same. Overall, the place just seemed kind of cold, as though they're more focused on themselves than on their guests. Perhaps they place a premium on what they see as respecting their guests' privacy, and if that's your style, you may have no issue with this attitude..

The downstairs living area has a nice gas fireplace and comfortable seating, but no tables to set down reading material or a glass or mug. And while there was hot water available for tea, the only cups were styrofoam, which doesn't really make it, either environmentally or amenity-wise.

Breakfast is served buffet-style, which also means we had no sense that we were the center of attention or that our needs were paramount. The food was OK, but not at all imaginative.

The Cedar Suite upstairs faces Granville Street and had some street noise, but that's to be expected. Still, if that's a concern, you should ask for accomodations in the back of the house. Cedar has a fold-out couch that can work well if there are more than 2 people in your party. It would have been nice if the sofa bed had at least one end table and some sort of reading lamp, instead of only the ceiling lights and (again) no place to set anything down.

That was also an issue in the bathroom -- there was no counter space on which to leave a toiletries bag, for example. While the liquid hand soap and shower gel were fine, there was also no bar soap for the tub (although there was a soap dish). Did somebody forget to set it out? Also be aware that, although the building is only about 10 years old, the plumbing suffers from the inability to maintain the shower temperature when somebody flushes a toilet or runs cold water. Which isn't fun. And it certainly isn't 5-star quality.

There were other little signs of being not-quite-on-target. For instance, there were three adults in our party but only 2 coffee mugs supplied and only 2 glasses in the bathroom. I know this sounds awfully picky, but this place is pretty pretentious, so it really should get the small details right.

  • Liked — Rooms are very clean and very well-equipped
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevelopmentGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvillebb, Owner at Granville House B&B, responded to this review, October 4, 2009
At the prodding of a current guest I will make some comments on this review, as most of it had been address long ago and is no longer current.

We provide all of our guests with the codes to the house and have no restrictions on arrival time. We feel that guests should not be tied to our schedule to check in (typical check in times at B&B would be an hour or two gap between 4-6pm). Arrive early with luggage? Flight arriving at midnight? Flight delayed and no way to contact us? What to stop at that quaint road side diner while driving here? No problem! We believe knowing that you can arrive at your leisure really removes a stress from the guest in cases like this, and really, who needs stress when traveling? With such flexibility to arrive, no, we are not always able to be here at the exact moment all guests arrive. If we are, you are sure to see us and be greeted. Our guests all know this when booking. There are many things to be done (away from the house) to operate a B&B, ie picking up our groceries, tending to linen service, as well we also try to keep active and visit the many places we recommend. Our cell phones are always with us, and we are very easy to reach.

We provide a buffet style breakfast, and offer the guest flexibility in breakfast time as well. You can come anytime between 8:30 and 10am (or if leaving early we ensure the continental items are left out to enjoy at any time). We love this since we get more time with each guest as the sittings tend to be staggered. It is too bad that you didn't take advantage of Randy's great personality, he remembers very well you staying with us and since you gave the impression that your family wanted privacy when he spoke with you, he gave it. We try to engage our guests, however we are very respectful of those who would rather keep to themselves. He personally offered his services to you daily each breakfast. He is a great host as he is born and raised in Vancouver and knows just about everything that goes on in the city!

We hope that guests do say goodbye with they leave, since check out is only 1 hour after breakfast and we are generally always still cleaning up the area and either in the breakfast area (by the front door) or briefly in the kitchen, if we happen to be in the kitchen typically guests will give a quick tap on the (open) door to our kitchen to let us know they are leaving. A quick mention about check out, we do not require our guests to sign papers to check out (this has already been done) so you are open to leave anytime if you are in a rush, no need to wait for us to put it together for you. It is a shame we missed you when you left, as we are usually able to have a wonderful good bye with guests as they depart.

We have comment cards in all our rooms asking our guests to take a moment to list anything they would love to see, that perhaps would be an oversight on our part, and we also list a long list of things we have implemented since guests have given us feedback. This has been an amazing area for improvement to our property. I have been known to email photos of the changes to the guests who have taken time to give us the feedback!

In regards to the (only) styrofoam cups in the breakfast area, it was odd that you wouldn't have mentioned that all the tables had Royal Doulton china cups on them. The day we saw your review we added larger porcelein cups to the tea area as well to now give 3 options for coffee/tea cups.

There is a large coffee table in the living room now.

Since I have never had any comments that the temperature has flucuated with a flush, and I have used every shower and have not felt a change in temperature. The Cedar bathroom is brand new, and the shower is thermostatic to remain at a constant temperature each time you use it. Thank you for the comment on counter space, we now have a cabinet. We now have a side table next to the sofa with a lamp. We do not offer bar soap, but keep a dish for those who might travel with one. We have a local organic company that makes all of our body wash, hair products, hand & body lotion, not only is it good for you, it smells heavenly.

We apologize for the lack of an extra cup, that was obviously an oversight, however there was a third of all other amenties (water bottles, robes etc).

Pretentious is a word I would not use for ourselves, we are very down to earth, loving life and opening our home to visitors from all over the world. We are so lucky and blessed to do what we do.

Pam Vogel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

I was looking for a comfortable, affordable B&B for my visit to Vancouver with my cousin. She had never stayed in a B&B so was a bit leary. I, on the underhand, had stayed in many B&B's. I must say, Granvilled House ranks right up there with the best. Pam and Randy are so friendly and helpful, you feel at home. One luxury was to be able to phone anywhere in North America free. Calling home was very important to us. The Owners seemed to think of everything to make the stay special from the luxury bedding to the lovely shampoo, soap, etc. The House is located about 15 minutes from downtown but in a quiet residential area. We will certainly be back and will tell our friends about this B&B.

  • Liked — The comfortable bed and bedding
  • Disliked — sink in bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraGeorgina_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We had a wonderful stay here! The rooms are clean & comfy. The bed's are wonderful. Each room has a safe & a flat screen TV. Pam & Randy the owners are friendly & very helpful. Eduardo, makes the most delicious breakfasts & speaks 3 languages. They have 1 hot item each morning (like a frittata & ham) plus fruit, cereal's etc. Having a code emailed prior to our stay to punch into the front door for entry was perfect ,since our flight was delayed 4 hrs & we arrived late at night. We were able to get right into the house & our room without having to meet with the owners. The location is great being a few minutes outside of the hustle & bustle of downtown & an easy 15 min drive from the airport. There are several gardens within minutes. We highly recommend this B&B. Their website has great photos of the house.

  • Liked — Clean & comfy.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaLittleRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We felt very comfortable at this bed and breakfast. It was very clean, very comfortable and a perfect place for us to stay.

Pros:
They have a keyless entry system that allows you to check in on your own. The owners e-mailed us a code for the front door and our suite. We had a late arrival to Vancouver, so this worked out nicely for us. We knew we weren't keeping someone up because of our delay.

The house is very pretty and the common areas are clean and neat.

The room was spotless, very clean. The bed was comfortable with nice linens. The bathroom was spacious and immaculate with new fixtures. Robes were provided for our use and locally made lotions and soaps in the bathroom were a nice touch. The room was a good size and came with a television.

Parking was also very easy, right behind the house.

We unfortunately fell ill while in Vancouver and the owners were very accommodating, preparing a breakfast tray for me to take up to our room for my boyfriend who wasn't feeling very well.

The owners were very friendly and I enjoyed the breakfast that they prepared, a baked dish called a blueberry baby (sort of like a healthy bread pudding) and granola, yogurt, etc.

Cons:
The B'n'B is located on a busy street and it took us a couple tries to figure out how to pull into the drive to park. You'll get directions with your room code so make sure to review them. The room we got wasn't noisy though, even though we were on a busy street.

  • Liked — So clean and comfy
  • Disliked — Busy street
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hundredflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We were so happy with this place that after reaching another B&B in Victoria, we are really missing Granville House. The House is just so beautiful and me being a clean freak couldnt find anything to complain about. Randy and Pam are so proud of their place and rightly so. The room was lovely! It had a secure door, beautiful shower and bathroom. The fridge and safes made it feel like you were in a 5 star hotel. The breakfast was nice and the hosts so friendly!

The rooms dont all have TV but they made sure that we had some viewing pleasure through Apple TV.

You should definitely book a room here as you ownt regret it. 15mins drive to downtown. Great value!!

I wish I had a house like this!!

Thanks to Randy and Pam for a wonderful and memorable stay.

Sukhi & Raman

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hycroft, Owner at Granville House B&B, responded to this review, August 28, 2008
Thanks Sukhi & Raman, it was great getting to know you!

As of last week all of our suites now have TV's, (3 of which are brand new HDTV 32" flat screen in Birch, Cedar and Elm). Birch and Cedar have the Apple TV (as mentioned in this review), which features on demand programming on Pod Casts ie local/international news when you want to watch it, access to YouTube, guests can also purchase movies/tv shows to watch on demand using their iTunes account. We have also uploaded all of our iTunes songs that guests have access to also (12,000 songs). We are working with our contractor to have the cable TV rewired into these suites so they will have cable access in the near future.

Cheers,

Pam and Randy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

This was our first B&B experience, and I must say that it was a great one! Pam & Randy were great hosts. The house is beautiful and lavishly decorated. The breakfasts were fantastic. They weren't your typical continental breakfasts. During our stay, we enjoyed Belgian waffles, crepes, and eggs Benedict, just to name a few. The individual safes located within the suite was a nice addition, something you don't even see in normal hotel rooms. The internet connection was strong and we had no problem connecting whatsoever.

The stay at Granville House was more than we expected. We will definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to friends that are planning to travel to Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nuance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 54 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
West Point Grey
House On Dunbar B&B
House On Dunbar B&B
#18 of 54 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
West Point Grey
Point Grey Guest House
Point Grey Guest House
#16 of 54 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
English Bay Inn
English Bay Inn
#6 of 54 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Shaughnessy
Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 54 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Kitsilano
A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage
A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage
#24 of 54 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville House B&B

Property: Granville House B&B
Address: 5050 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 3B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only 2011 Canada-Select 5 Star B&B! Built in 1997, this Shaughnessy mansion was renovated in 2007 to provide modern romantic luxury in Vancouver's wealthiest neighbourhood. We provide free on-site parking, WiFi, local & long distance calling. Time sensitive door codes provide hotel security & allow access convenient to you. All suites have king bed, 32" LCD TV with free HD programming and luxurious en-suite bathroom. Enjoy pressed linens, Hutterite down duvets and pillows. Room controlled Air Conditioning, fresh air exchange and heated floors. Deluxe breakfast buffet included, from 5-11am (hot dish served 8:30-10am). Vancouver's largest B&B breakfast area with 6 individual tables. Extremely central, on Granville Street (& 35th Ave), steps to transit, 5 minutes to downtown, 10 minutes to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Granville House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville House Hotel Vancouver
Granville House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing