We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edwardo is worth the trip, the B&B is really great too!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granville House B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Granville House B&B
Ranked #22 of 50 Vancouver B&B and Inns
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Edwardo is worth the trip, the B&B is really great too!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2007

Edwardo runs Granville, cooks breakfast, is charming, delightful
and entertaining, and a great source of information.

The B&B is great, beautiful home, the best of everything,
including Edwardo who is the icing on the cake.

Spacious rooms, very quiet and Randy and Pam, the owners
in residence are a delightful couple.

I highly recommend Granville, I stayed at their other B&B
Hycroft which is equally superior.

For a relaxing alternative to a hotel, with fabulous service
and delicious breakfast, choose Granville, great location and easy to walk to Granville Island from. We rented a car for our last two nights and I found Vancouver easy to get around.

We were on the Alaskan Cruise and enjoyed two days at both ends of the cruise at Granville.

  • Liked — Spacious room, and Edwardo
  • Disliked — Nothing everything was great
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saraann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    24
    8
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
94
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2007

Because almost all the hotels in downtown Vancouver were unavailable at the time we came, we ended up staying at the Granville House B & B for two nights to wrap up our trip to British Columbia. What a blessing that turned out to be! The keypad entry locks made our late night check-in hassle-free, as we were e-mailed our codes prior to arriving. We stayed in the Cedar Suite and found it to be extremely comfortable for the two of us. As mentioned in a previous review, this room faces busy Granville Street, and the car traffic is just minimally audible--certainly nothing that was at all bothersome when the windows are closed, but can get a little noisy if you like to open them for fresh air. The king-sized bed was as good as any four star hotel accommodations, if not better. The wi-fi signal in the room was a little weak, but I was able to use my laptop for internet access without problems. The star of this suite, though, was the luxurious bathroom with it's huge soaker tub and the shower with body spray jets. Parking was conveniently located in the back of the house, and there's lots of motion-sensored lights that illuminate your way to the front door if you come in at night. Breakfast was a slight step up from "continental"--we had breakfast tacos and fresh croissants in addition to the usual fruit, cereal, and yogurt offered to us on the days we were there. We didn't have a lot of interactions with the innkeeper/staff more due to our own schedule, but when we did meet them, they were extremely friendly and had some great suggestions about where to go in Vancouver. Overall, a great place to stay--we really can't think of anything to complain about.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, luxurious bath
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SpeedRacer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2007

We recently spent 4 nights in the Elm Room. We were pleasantly impressed with the property. Our room was large, clean, and modern and the king-sized bed was incredibly comfortable. The key free entrance system allowed the flexibility of a hotel but the personal touch of a B&B was maintained. We would be delighted to spend more time at the Granville on coming trips to Vancouver. The bar for our future B&B experiences has been set!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank UsingMyLuggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

My husband and I stayed for three nights at this new B & B. We checked in quite late on our first night and the electronic check-in ensured that we didn't have to wake our hosts and allowed us to keep to our own schedule. The rooms are very clean and have many of the amenities of a high end hotel (robes, high quality shampoo/conditioner, personal fridge, ironing board & iron). The hosts were friendly and approachable and came down to breakfast to greet the guests. Breakfast is very hearty and went beyond traditional continental fare. The B & B is located on a very central (and therefore quite busy street), however the windows are double glazed and you can barely hear the traffic.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and amenities of the room
  • Disliked — No common computer to check e-mail on
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nosleeptilbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

We spent four days at the Granville House B&B this August and we were very pleased. The furnishings are nearly new and the hosts go out of their way to make you feel welcome and answer questions about Vancouver. We had the Master Suite (Cedar Room) which fronts on the very busy Granville Road. Despite our initial qualms about the traffic, that turned out to be a non-issue. Breakfasts are described as "continental" but were excellent including a delicious Quiche. The bed and bath are both state of the art and give an air of luxury. I had some issues connecting to the internet service, but they seem to be on top of that issue and I'm confident they will get it worked out. There is off-street parking and the electronic access system lets you come and go without a key.

This is also a great location for Vancouver. Easy access to downtown, the University, or nice restaurants. We had our best meals at the Aurora Bistro near Broadway and Main sts. Absolutely excellent.

  • Liked — Excellent bed and bath and great hosts
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank willisjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

We spent two nights at the Granville House and it was by far the most luxurious place we stayed during our three-week road trip. Absolutely lovely with brand new, gorgeous linens, comfortable bed, very modern bathroom and everything was impeccably clean. We did have trouble checking in, because the electronic lock instructions went to our spam folder, but as long as you make sure you receive that email, it's fine. The owners are so nice and friendly and very knowledgeable about the area - they had great recommendations and we really enjoyed the restaurants they suggested (Vij's - great, interesting indian food, Chow - probably one of the best meals on the entire trip. superb) as well as the location near South Granville. The B&B is located on a busy street, but the interior is completely silent. The breakfast was also delicious!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsTaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reston, va
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2007

This b&b was truely a find! My daughters and I had a great time visiting Vancouver and especially enjoyed the location as well as all the amenities of the Granville House B&B. We were made to feel right at home from the when we arrived by staff and found the hosts to be truely gracious and very helpful. Although on busy Granville Street, no street noise can be heard from within the house or the room and the electronic lock system is great. Each morning's breakfast was a special and delicious surprise with local fresh fruit each day. Again, staying at the Granville House B&B was a wonderful component to our time in Vancouver.

  • Liked — cleanliness, location, staff and hosts, quiet
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bakinzoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 50 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Shaughnessy
Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 50 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
West Point Grey
House On Dunbar B&B
House On Dunbar B&B
#16 of 50 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Douglas Guest House
Douglas Guest House
#13 of 50 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#25 of 50 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
West End
English Bay Inn
English Bay Inn
#6 of 50 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville House B&B

Property: Granville House B&B
Address: 5050 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 3B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only 2011 Canada-Select 5 Star B&B! Built in 1997, this Shaughnessy mansion was renovated in 2007 to provide modern romantic luxury in Vancouver's wealthiest neighbourhood. We provide free on-site parking, WiFi, local & long distance calling. Time sensitive door codes provide hotel security & allow access convenient to you. All suites have king bed, 32" LCD TV with free HD programming and luxurious en-suite bathroom. Enjoy pressed linens, Hutterite down duvets and pillows. Room controlled Air Conditioning, fresh air exchange and heated floors. Deluxe breakfast buffet included, from 5-11am (hot dish served 8:30-10am). Vancouver's largest B&B breakfast area with 6 individual tables. Extremely central, on Granville Street (& 35th Ave), steps to transit, 5 minutes to downtown, 10 minutes to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Granville House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville House Bed And Breakfast
Granville House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing