We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Vancouver

“Wonderful Yum Cha”

Peninsula Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #3,024 of 4,177 Restaurants in Vancouver
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Oakridge
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a quick dim sum lunch. The ambience was very classy. The service was excellent and timely. The food was fresh, delicious, and perfectly cooked and hot. It was an impressive dim sum experience. I will definitely return soon with more friends so that we can try more dishes.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 40 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2019

We were at Oakridge Centre to make last minute Christmas present purchases so decided to enjoy a dim sum brunch at the Peninsula Seafood Restaurant. The dim sum items were a bit on the pricey side and as well the dim sum arrived on the soggy side (as if the dim sum was left over from yesterday and reheated causing the dim sum to be soggy and tasteless.)

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Renegade225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

Took my family for lunch today at this supposedly high end Chinese Restaurant at the Oakridge mall. Half way through lunch, most of the staff including the managers was running around the restaurant with a baton and a vacuum. First, they wouldn't alert the patrons of what's going on.
Eventually, the words got that were trying to catch the RATS that are running around the walls and curtains. Yes, I said RATS. CAUTION if you want to dine here because I am still worry about what I consumed there today.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank yuppy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2018

I made a reservation 2 days in advance for dim sum lunch at 12:30 on a weekday to treat some elderly visitors. The manual reservation system controlled by the hostess allows for favouritism/preferential treatment of certain groups (who book for 11:30am then show up and say ooh, we are just running late) and severe overbooking. After waiting 40 minutes we left, despite the promise that a table would be available soon. That promise was made several times during our wait. I have eaten here before and the food is decent but incredibly overpriced. Look up other dim sum options - they will be 1/2 to 2/3 the price and better service.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2018

We happened to be shopping in the Oakridge Shopping Centre with a visitor from out of town. The Peninsula Restaurant was convenient so we made a reservation earlier. We were placed into one of the private room areas. There were a few minor service mistakes such as being seated at a table with only 2 chairs and 2 settings for the 3 of us with no mention that a 3rd chair or setting would be forthcoming and secondly, an item ordered missed. The main problem arose when my visitor bit into something hard in her dumpling. At first she thought it was a bone but upon further inspection noted it was a small Pebble. The waiter was called over and went to inform the manager about the issue. After quite some time the waiter returned to check if the manager had dealt with the situation. We informed him that nothing happened. When the manager finally arrived he offered to take the dish back and to have the item removed from our bill. REALLY. No real apology was offered and no compensation. He should have at least ordered another dumpling dish at no charge. These type of restaurants loose my business quite quickly.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank WEI339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Peninsula Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing