We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auld Dublin Guest House
Ranked #18 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

A nice room at a nice neighborhood.
Helen is friendly and attentive to our needs.
Thank you Helen for the efforts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in late March 2012 because the Auld Dublin is located just a few steps from our daughter's apartment. The quality of this B&B just added to our satisfaction. Mrs Carton is a delightful and accommodating host, her breakfasts are very good, and the rooms are comfortable. If you're looking for a friendly welcome and a pleasant place to stay in Vancouver, the Auld Dublin is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hafaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at The Auld Dublin Guest House in August for a very special occasion: we actually got married there! We had decided to tie the knot in Vancouver with a handful of friends and after a lot a research we decided on The Auld Dublin, which seemed to be as beautiful inside as outside, and we were not disappointed. We had a nicely decorated and well-appointed room overlooking the garden. The house itself was full of character and charm, tastefully blending European antiques with contemporary comfort. But for us, the highlight of our stay was in the warmth and easy going of the owner, Helen Kelly, who made us feel at ease right from the start and, with delicate attentions throughout our stay, made us feel really special. We had the wedding ceremony in the secluded part of the garden and drinks afterwards on the decking area, as the weather was truly outstanding. A day to remember for us all of course, but as far as our trip was concerned, we could not have hoped for a better place. Vancouver is a gorgeous city and a stay at the friendly Auld Dublin Guest House with Helen is the perfect complement to have a truly memorable holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan_and_Thong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is a lovely older home in a pleasant neighborhood, with a friendly and accommodating hostess. Helen, the owner, recommended some terrific options for nearby restaurants. We had to leave very early in the morning (5:45) to catch a train, and Helen made an extra effort provided us a special, quick breakfast, about 2 hours before the usual time. The bedroom was nicely furnished with everything we could want for a comfortable stay. Helen has tastefully refurbished this home; the dining area was especially nice. A great place to stay while exploring Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Auld Dublin House and were very pleased with our choice of accommodations. The B&B is in a great location for exploring Vancouver. The bus to UBC was about 3 blocks away, and the bus stop to Queen Elizabeth Gardens and downtown Vancouver was a few steps away. We found a large number of restaurants with a range of prices and types of food within easy walking distance and enjoyed the walk in the neighborhood and the many beautiful gardens along the way. Helen was a wonderful hostess and was very helpful in providing information about the neighborhood. The garden room was quite comfortable. We would gladly return for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2010

A tiny, warm & charming house with reminiscences to art noveau and classic style. The breakfast excellent, fitting exactly our tast for fresh fruits, organic muesli, yoghurt, eggs ... a nice spot to sit outside on a terrace. Just a speedy walk every day to the public transports with best connection to the center (bus right at the corner, metro a 12 min walk away). Rooms not abundant in space, but anyhow very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paparomeoindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Our trip to Vancouver was a very enjoyable experience, largely due to our stay in this beautiful B&B. Helen, the hostess is charming, helpful and very friendly, the house is beautiful and the breakfast a real treat! The location is excellent, in a nice and quiet area but still close to public transport. We felt very welcome and at home far away from our home. If we ever come to Vancouver again, we will definitely stay at the Auld Dublin !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#35 of 90 in Vancouver
674 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 90 in Vancouver
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 90 in Vancouver
2,066 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#29 of 54 in Vancouver
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Dublin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Dublin Guest House

Property: Auld Dublin Guest House
Address: 988 19th Ave W, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 1X5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unique combination of old world charm and contemporary comfort that this Vancouver bed and breakfast has to offer. Each room has been carefully decorated to provide a restful and relaxing stay. The beautifully appointed dining area, a cozy fireplace and the Gaelic grace and wit of your hostess all add to the experience.The Auld Dublin Guest House Vancouver B&B is very easy to find, located a half block off Oak Street, which becomes Highway 99 to the USA. It is also close to public transit and less than 10 minutes away from Vancouver’s downtown shopping core. The Whistler ski resort is only a 90-minute drive. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing