We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun”

Vancouver TheatreSports League
Ranked #2 of 100 Nightlife in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vancouver TheatreSports League is a pillar of the Vancouver performing arts scene and a worldwide phenomenon, producing and staging some of the most daring and innovative improv in the world.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of fun”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a fun place to be, if you are ever looking for something to do that is fun and you are not into drinking, this is defiantly the place to be

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Public Relations Manager at Vancouver TheatreSports League, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi Stacey,
Thanks for taking a moment to share the love! We have so much fun here, and are always glad to hear the audiences are feeling it too. We totally agree that VTSL is a great place to have fun with or without drinks, and with a full bar and a drinks-allowed-in theatre, we have any and all friends covered for the night.
Hope to see you back soon, and thanks for the kind words.
Best,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    36
    9
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“hularious”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

after a super day out & about the island- we saw an evening show - Avenue Q!!
Adult puppet show! Clever, witty, risqué, racey....fantastic content, delivery, music, props.....LOVED IT!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FJEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Public Relations Manager at Vancouver TheatreSports League, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi there,
Thanks so much for taking a moment to tell us about your evening. While I wish we could take credit for the wonderful time you had, I believe you have mistaken us for Arts Club Theatre, who are currently presenting the musical Avenue Q near by. We will pass on your kudos, but meanwhile if you are ever back on beautiful Granville Island we would love to have you here for a show!
Best,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“If this was improv, then I am Lord Lucan”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Met up with some friends for a meal and drinks at the Sand Bar (excellent on all counts) on Granville Island and we decided to go and see the improv. Now please let me start by saying that I love comedy clubs, I love improv and I have a great sense of humour (if I say so myself). So we were all looking forward to what this had to offer.

The plan is that there is two teams of three, who each 'randomly' ask the audience for certain subject matters. They then act out an improved sketch.

What then transpired was a 'hook and bait' scenario where the subject matters that were randomly chosen were the ones that the teams had already rehearsed.

The only redeeming factor was that it only cost $10 each.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Public Relations Manager at Vancouver TheatreSports League, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We are always so pleased that the quality of the scenes are high enough to seem impossible to be improvised, and as a fellow comedy lover I completely appreciate your awe. The show is, however, completely improvised...so, I guess that makes you Lord Lucan,(you should know some people are looking for you).
Thanks again for joining us in our newest show, and please get in touch if you would like to come back again and see how different each show can be :).
Best,
Sarah
promotions@vtsl.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing Improv Race!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A group of family members and I went to see this show, Amazing Improv Race, in early July and LOVED it. The show is based on The Amazing Race, with three teams doing various improv challenges. We had children with us ranging in age from 11 to 15 and the kids found the show very entertaining. We laughed so hard. The early show is "family friendly" so totally appropriate for children. There was a bit of audience participation, a few skits involved a volunteer from the audience, but no pressure was put on anyone to participate. Being a "race", the audience got to vote on the winner of each round. The cost of the tickets was very cheap and we definitely got our money's worth! I highly recommend this show when you visit Granville Island!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank njlSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Public Relations Manager at Vancouver TheatreSports League, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your experience, it is always great to hear when people love what we do. The Amazing Improv Race is brand-new to our programming, and it's feedback like yours that helps us know we are on the right track. We hope you and your family come join us again, and we so appreciate your support!
Best,
Sarah
promotions@vtsl.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was so much fun. Had a great time. Went to see the 9:30 TheatreSports show and decided, on a whim, to stay and watch the late 11:15 show too. Our favorite experience from our day trip to Granville Island. Laughed and laughed. The cast had a great time and so did we.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FunSeeker75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Public Relations Manager at Vancouver TheatreSports League, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks so much, Deb, we are so thrilled you took the time to share your experience with us. We love having Granville Island as our home, and being able to complete a great day for any visitor. Please let us know if you are ever back :).
-Sarah promotions@vtsl.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vancouver TheatreSports League also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Vancouver TheatreSports League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing