We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value for Laughs in Vancouver”

Vancouver TheatreSports League
Ranked #2 of 100 Nightlife in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vancouver TheatreSports League is a pillar of the Vancouver performing arts scene and a worldwide phenomenon, producing and staging some of the most daring and innovative improv in the world.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Value for Laughs in Vancouver”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Vancouver Theater Sports has got to be the best value for a funny night out. The theater is located near the entrance of Granville Island so I'll usually go out with a group of friends for dinner on island and some shopping before the show. The theater is small with a bar serving reasonably priced drinks. The shows for the night is a series of short skits made up on the spot with some of the audience getting in on the action. I've never been to a show that didn't have me in stitches. Easily the best place to go for a laugh.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Public Relations Manager at Vancouver TheatreSports League, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words, Neil! It's support like yours that lets us provide the funny 5 nights a week, and provides inspiration for every single scene. Thanks again, and please do let us know when you join us again!
-Sarah promotions@vtsl.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    36
    9
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancovuer, BC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place is a perfect start or ending to a great night out. You can bring older kids here as its not a rude show. Just plain funny improv!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank adamandtaly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanTheatreSports, Public Relations Manager at Vancouver TheatreSports League, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We love a good compliment! So happy to hear you and your family has come down to join us, and we appreciate you taking the time to share the love. My first show at TheatreSports was when I was 8...and a couple of decades later I'm working here! Make sure to let your kid know to send a resume when they hit the job force :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Exceptional talent, great location”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Always enjoyed the shows. Amazing talent featured in their various performances. Very interesting and unique workshops offered too, wonderful as non-traditional team-building activities or customer-service-training.

Helpful?
Thank laylaaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanTheatreSports, Public Relations Manager at Vancouver TheatreSports League, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thanks so much for the kind words! We have upcoming classes in the new year for every level, and are always happy to take our best improvisers in to the corporate world. We are always excited to help a team build their trust and achieve their goals. Best wishes in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“How do they do it?!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Vancouver TheatreSports League will make you laugh, they have a variety of shows and its always different. They serve food and drink and have a bar as well. The shows content is clean, usually no swearing although some themes may be inappropriate for young children (ie birth control). But don't get the wrong idea this place is great family entertainment. They have tables up front as well as regular seating (which have cup holders and are plenty comfortable). The Theatre is fairly small so even in the back row you will feel close. The price is the same as a movie- I recommend Ultimate Improv Show. They offer a booklet of biographies of the actors which is cool and they have pictures in the hall of all the actors.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RonandNichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanTheatreSports, Public Relations Manager at Vancouver TheatreSports League, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
With everything made up on the spot, we have just as much fun as our audiences. So glad it shows, and that you've joined us in the beautiful Improv Centre. We look forward to having you back and appreciate the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
446 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Fun times”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a fun night out with dinner in the area. Just go with the flow and laugh yourself silly...or not!

Helpful?
Thank 1956traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanTheatreSports, Public Relations Manager at Vancouver TheatreSports League, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello 1956traveller,

Thanks for visiting us and writing a review about us! You're right, you just have to go with the flow and laugh. We have a lot of fun onstage, and we love it when our audiences have a lot of fun too! We hope to see you back on your next Granville Island visit.

All the best,
Justinne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vancouver TheatreSports League also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Vancouver TheatreSports League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing