We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had studied here !”

University of British Columbia
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.43*
and up
Vancouver Guided Cycling Tour
More Info
$28.64*
and up
Independent Bike Tour of Vancouver
More Info
$104.31*
and up
Vancouver Outdoor Tour
Ranked #24 of 356 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The University of British Columbia is a global centre for research and teaching, consistently ranked among the 40 best universities in the world. Since 1915, UBC’s West Coast spirit has embraced innovation and challenged the status quo. Its entrepreneurial perspective encourages students, staff and faculty to challenge convention, lead discovery and explore new ways of learning. At UBC, bold thinking is given a place to develop into ideas that can change the world. The UBC Welcome Centre is located in the Robert H. Lee Alumni Centre and is the perfect place to start your journey on the Vancouver campus. Our knowledgeable staff can answer your questions, provide maps and directions and let you know what events are happening during your visit. Immerse yourself in UBC’s history through interactive exhibits and displays. Acknowledge, reflect and discover UBC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wish I had studied here !”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Amazing location and we had a great visit to the Anthropology Museum - the Rose Garden was sadly out of season .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lucy60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    150
    36
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Campus!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The UBC campus is a beautiful campus with amazing views and a wide variety of attractions for visitors. It is worth making multiple visits to explore everything. The main attractions include the Biodiversity Museum, Museum of Anthropology, The Botanical Gardens, Wreck Beach, UBC Farm, and Cecil Green Park to name but a few. it is wonderful just to walk across campus and enjoy the beauriful trees, the cherry blossoms and mountain views. It is a very peaceful setting in spite of being home to over 45,000 students. It is easily accessible from anywhere by public transit but be prepared to wear your walking shoes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RKW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Campus!!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I recently visited Vancouver to celebrate my birthday and I am so glad that I visited the University of British Columbia. I took the city bus to get to UBC and found that the campus is huge! I took some beautiful photos and of course I was reminded of my undergrad days and even now since I am still studying for my MBA degree. I also visited the Museum of Anthropology which is located on the UBC's campus. Since the campus is so large, looking at the campus maps might be confusing, but with so much friendliness in Vancouver, simply ask for directions if you get confused or lost!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChardonnayNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing University”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It is huge, a city unto itself, bookstore and coffee shop, their own beach, great anthropology museum. Only bad part is so big hard to see it all

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hbednarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Awesome environment and clean”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I'm very impressed with this university as not only it's one of the better ones academically, but the surroundings are beautiful too. World ranking by reputation, UBC is placed 31 and by the Times Higher Education World University rankings 2012 - 2013, it's placed 30.
Visit the Spanish banks beach, it has a nice view of downtown Vancouver and Wreck beach, where you have to be naked here! There's also the Museum of Anthropology if you're interested in research and collections. Visit the Chung Collection exhibition at the UBC Library to learn about the early BC history, immigration and settlement, and the Canadian Pacific Railway - it's free admission.
UBC has so much to offer and see. I'm very happy my son chose to come here to study!
A Place Of Mind - University of British Columbia!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of British Columbia also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to University of British Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing