We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wooden coaster is the best part of Playland”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Playland

Playland
Ranked #95 of 348 things to do in Vancouver
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Playland is part of the Pacific National Exhibition (PNE) fairgrounds in Vancouver and is BC’s most famous amusement park. Playland features exhilarating rides and attractions for all ages, exciting midway games, mini-golf, a climbing wall, haunted mansion and a variety of delicious food. Playland offers over 35 rides and attractions, including four exciting roller coasters. One of the most loved and talked about attractions at Playland is the historic Wooden Roller Coaster. This spectacular coaster has been operating at the park since 1958 and is cited as a “Coaster Classic” by the American Coaster Enthusiasts organization, which is an honour shared by only 22 other wooden coasters in the world. For the more adventurous visitors, Playland offers 15 extreme rides and attractions including the extreme swing ride Atmosfear, which takes you up 218 feet while spinning 70km/hour and The Beast, cited as Canada’s most extreme pendulum ride. For those looking to experience a bit of thrill with the entire family, Playland features 17 family and kids rides including three new family rides for 2016, a spinning coaster, Bug Whirled, a peddle operated ride, Flutterbye and a tower, Dizzy Drop. For those hoping to capture amazing views of Vancouver, the Westcoast Wheel ferris wheel will provide just that! Of course, a visit to Playland is not complete without a ride on the historic Wooden Roller Coaster. Unique to Playland is Kids Playce, an area designated for parents and families with children between the ages of 2-10. Kids Playce provides the perfect setting for families looking to spend some time together in a clean, safe and kid-friendly environment. Bring your friends and family out to Playland for a full day of fun! Playland is open from May 6 to September 17.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wooden coaster is the best part of Playland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

I really wish there was a way to buy a pass to ONLY ride the wooden coaster. None of the other rides really thrill me anymore. However, if you have kids who do not have weak stomachs, then there will be enough rides at this attraction to keep them entertained. I'd vote the log ride as a close second to the wooden coaster. Did not see the "wild mouse" ride on our last visit to Playland, so I guess that one is gone now :( The fact that you have to pay extra to walk through the haunted house is ridiculous!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cynlouhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    68
    35
    11
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not bad for what it is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

It's hard to compare it with other amusement parks. It definitely feels outdated and small compared to the bigger parks in other parts of the country/world. That's because it is outdated and small.

However, it's still easy to spend an entire day there and enjoy yourself. The wooden roller coaster is the main attraction. Built in the 1950s and still maintained to this day, it attracts the most amount of visitors and is a pretty fun ride to try out. However, it is one of only two coasters at the park (the other one being The Corkscrew, which to be honest is quite disappointing)

If you buy tickets online, prices are pretty reasonable and I feel like you get your money's worth. If you're a big ride enthusiast, you will more than likely be disappointed, but if you're just looking for a fun day out in the sun with your friends, give it a shot.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikola_Tanaskovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A must-do in August”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This review is for play land with then PNE. It is a yearly tradition in many families to visit the PNE for those few weeks in August. Playland by itself is fun. The kids will love it. But the adults will appreciate the other things to do when the PNE is going as well. We mainly go for the food. We stuff ourselves silly with mini doughnuts, hunky bill's perogies (the main reason for going), lemonade, BBQ something or other, and root beer. The prices are too expensive, the crowd around you annoying, and you often leave early bc you had forgotten that there but isn't a lot to see and do. Last years special exhibit on Genghis Kahn was really interesting and we have high hopes for the Game of Thrones exhibit this year.
Playland's rides lineup changes slightly every year. As my toddler gets older, he's enjoying it more and more bc he can go on more rides. For the adults, if you have been to any manly amusement park, the rides may not thrill you much. I like roller-coasters and unfortunately don't enjoy our two that much. The corkscrew is too short and the wooden one is sketchy as hell.
This place is something you have to experience. It's a great way to kill an entire day with the family. Take in all the shows like the amazing super dogs and relax and have a good time. And stuff your face!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ckredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“For what it's worth...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

It might be a little overpriced for what it is, but it's still a good time regardless. Definitely easy to waste a day there no problem.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank aaronvonhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terribly disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

For someone like me who's used to those big amusement parks in Korea and Japan and even LaRonde, Playland itself is a joke. Their rides are tiny, short and they lack thrill. I was absolutely disappointed

Helpful?
6 Thank Min Gyo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playland also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Playland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing