We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stupendous deco building: Go inside and appreciate it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marine Building

Marine Building
Ranked #37 of 345 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Northeast
Level Contributor
168 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Stupendous deco building: Go inside and appreciate it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

While walking through downtown Vancouver, we noticed the Marine Building. We knew nothing about it, but realized it was something special. We went inside and were pleasantly surprised. What a lovely example of deco. Don't miss it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeGenerale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    75
    15
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
890 reviews
320 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Exquisite Interior.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Entering this interesting grand building through beautiful revolving doors I was in awe of the stunning lobby in which I found myself.
Such detail from floor to walls to ceiling & doors. Stained glass windows, the floor design with the zodiac & other sea faring motifs.
It's worth taking the lift to the next floor to see the view from above & across.
What a treasure that has been maintained true to its origins!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keremeos, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“details!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

this, in my opinion is the most beautiful building in Vancouver. The details on the exterior are truly very beautiful. A rare find in "the concrete jungle".

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank captainronanejo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

we popped in just for a look and were amazed at the art deco designs and décor inside. It is a treasure hidden amongst the high rises but well worth seeking out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank a_mcfarlane377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Art Deco building shines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

An awesome example of Art Deco architecture, with tons of nautical design elements. You can go inside also and examine the elaborate interior style. The elevator doors are on equal par with those in the Chrysler Building in New York. Very near the waterfront too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pelagir22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marine Building also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Marine Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing