We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
American Backpackers Hostel
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just horrible”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is one of the worst hotel I never went in my life...
The location is pretty good but except that everything is horrible.
When I'm arrive the owner (vincent) gave me clean sheet... but It wasn't really clean the sheet was full of urine the smell was unbearable!!!
The washrooms was so disgusting I think they are never clean...
I really will not recommend this place even if its the cheaper place in Town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angeloz2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enzuccio, Public Relations Manager at American Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
please note the gust was so drunk he pissed on the bed also complains because some people according were they are from are endless complainer we at hostel give clean sheet and even if were dirty he could come and have changed also here we dont make beds for guest they have to make them-self we give clean sheets but some are so lazy or drunk that they dont make the beds for $10 per night dont aspect the Hilton hotel people ??? we had same price for 28 years ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    11
    6
    27
See reviews for
3
12
56
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

American backpackers hostel in Van,BC is the place to be...you will meet amazing people from all around the world,have some fun,dicouvering Vancouver and party like an party animal...so go there!!! :p

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ichel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This place is my favorite in vancouver. Across the street from the amsterdam cafe and in the middle of everything downtown this place will be memorable for any backpacker.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2011

im from south Korea backpacker.

i came to canada for snowboard in whistler.

when i choos hostel most important in cheap and location.

yeah price is really awesome only 10$ p/n and from airport to get here

dont need any transfer only take one train and can walk to here,

and u can find around here cheap n good pizza shop n cvs n library.

so many differents county people here n friendly and party all night!

building is kind of historical and not really new but if u like antique style and

want try old style canada room its perfect.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kijong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Wow, American Backpackers hostel is awesome place, since I never seen it before.
You guys come to join American Backpackers hostel.
If I have a chance to be here, I will come back soon,
enjoy again.

Room Tip: Room No 9 is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I'm probably the only person to write a negative review. That is because the American Backpackers Hostel pays their guests $30 to write a review. Pretty lame, really. This place is a dump. It's a filthy, bed bug infested drug den. The charming quasi legalized pot cafe's of the neighborhood draw a really seedy mix of wasted travelers and local bums.

The "office" has a sign that no one over 35 is welcome, which is funny because the people who run the place are old hippies.

American Backpackers Hostel boasts about their $10 a night room rate. What they don't mention is that only 4 beds in a shared, bathroomless dormitory are sold at the $10 rate, plus $10 key deposit. You'll likely spend $20 +$10 key deposit if you are traveling alone. Only you'll never get your deposit back because no one staffs the office during check out. So you'll pay $30 for a filthy, bug infested bed. Meanwhile you can get pretty nice hotel rooms for around $40 or $50 that you can share with 3 or 4 people.

Don't stay here. It's not hip, or free spirited, it's just dirty.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Einehpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2011

great atmosphere!!, friendly community! located in the hear of down town vacouver close to many places, kitchen, free bear and bread

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
Downtown
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
#41 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Gastown
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
#26 of 49 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Backpackers Hostel

Property: American Backpackers Hostel
Address: 347 West Pender Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check-in time is from 11 a.m. to2 P.M and 5-11 P.M.no curfew. thousand of loyal customers keep coming back we have an old building that character and fun abounds, communal kitchen,socializing room with stereo musical instruments,Internet .bike parking fridges lockers.max age 35,weekly rated dorm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your American Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Backpackers Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing