We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't go there...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambie Hostel Gastown
Rho
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“don't go there...”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

I've been two nights in Cambie Hostel Gastown, and it has been the worst Hostel of all my holiday in Canada. The room was not comfortable at all and also the bathroom was very poor even if they use to clean it every day.
The hostel is located just beside the pub, full of young people during the night, and this is not bad. It is bad that you must pay ten dollars after 7 pm just to get inside and having a drink.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank follisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    42
    23
    31
See reviews for
2
22
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2010

What to say about the Cambie in Gastown...

If you're looking to stay somewhere central on a budget, this hostel definitely offers cheap affordable rooms. With only a few minute walk to the skytrain station, and a short walk to Davies, Robson, & Granville St, the location seems pretty incredible. EXCEPT for the fact that you're a block away from East Hastings... this is statistically Canada's poorest neighborhood. Within five minutes of the hostel, you are literally witnessing hundreds of homeless people lining the streets and injecting drugs. There seems to be some kind of invisible barrier between Gastown and East Hastings, so there wasn't too much of a problem in front of our hostel... however since we had to rely purely on street parking, I was extremely paranoid about the safety of our car. (Fortunately nothing happened to it).

The hostel is very secure considering its shady location. To get to your room, you have to pass through two locked security doors. The rooms seemed fairly clean, the linens were fresh, and the bunk beds were quite large. We had a private bathroom in our 8 bedroom dorm... but with 8 people sharing one small bathroom, I ended up using the common bathroom down the hall. The ceiling of this bathroom was infested with mold, and the pipes were leaking in several places. I reported the leaks to the front desk, and they responded with a very disinterested facial expression. There were cockroaches on the floor in our room, and also plenty of mouse scat under our beds.

If you're going to stay here, for the love of God bring ear plugs! (Unless the screaming of drunken partiers until 4 in the morning mixed in with the sounds of police/ambulance sirens sooths you to sleep). The rooms were quite hot since it was the end of July, and having a window open was really necessary.

There were several great things about the Cambie: First of all, the commons room (although small) was extremely cozy and inviting. Secondly, the Cambie bar downstairs is a riot and guarantees good times (and make sure you try their fish& chips). Thirdly, the breakfast deal in the morning was pretty great. The 'free breakfast' they advertise is simply a coffee and a dry muffin, but you can upgrade to a full breakfast with toast, eggs, bacon, and hashbrowns and only pay $2.50.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goavocado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

located along the tap of vancouver :-) in gastown, with its own pub.
super food, super beer. value is just amazing! incl. breakfast for 30dollars.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

I didn't want to believe the reviews but at this place you really get what you pay for. the beds have clean sheets but remnants of previous guests are plentiful on the blankets. the bar downstairs is incredibly loud. the hallways smell of old feet which is unsuccessfully masked every morning by a cleaner wiping the floors with chlorine. the showers and toilets are ok-ish if you are lucky. the breakfast muffins and coffee in the next door cafe are nice but to be honest, can get that anywhere...
the hostel is at the corner to hastings street which is really very unpleasant due to it being the main area for tramps/drug addicts. heard shouting and trolleys being rolled down the street at night.
not a pleasant couple of nights and to top it off I found a bug fully loaded with blood in the bed on the last morning - safe to say that we will not be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muffel2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

My two girlfriends and I (all mothers in our early 30’s) wanted to experience something we've never experienced before so when planning a trip to Vancouver, B.C. (we're from Spokane, WA - USA) we decided we wanted to try out a hostel. We were truly walking into the Gastown Cambie totally blind with the exception of reviewing their website! We'd never even stepped foot in Vancouver before. We knew there was a bar on the first floor and since this was an "all girls party trip" we figured this would be our best bet to have a good time. They didn't disappoint! What an amazing experience! We found it was such a great "melting pot" of people. We met wonderful people from all over the world. The staff was SO friendly and helpful! We were really surprised on how secure the building was. Not only do they have security guys posted throughout the evening hours, they also have card key access to the upper floors where the rooms are. There was always someone at the front desk to greet people, too. We really loved our whole experience in Vancouver, but our stay at the Cambie was the highlight! We are planning to go back this coming May for another girls weekend!
I would recommend this location to people that are looking to have a fun time with a young, hip, open group of people. You would also have to be prepared to share accommodations (i.e. - bathrooms/showers, etc) with others outside of your group. If you're good with that you're guaranteed a great experience!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TKColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2009

I have to admit I am picky when it comes to cleanliness. But the rooms were clean, as well as the showers and washroom. We had a four person bedroom, it is small but totally ok for the price. Our room was pretty quiet, since we lived on the 2nd floor, and the room wasn't directed to the streets. The staff was nice and helpfull, the breakfast muffin as well as the whole breakfast were good.
You were just able to enter the hostel if you had a keycard, the hallways were equipped with security cameras, so pretty safe. If you check out and want to go to the city again, you can store your luggage in the secured luggage room.
All in all I can say that the Cambie Gastown was definitely better than expected (from the other reviews). And the location was nice, close to Gastown and the Waterfront.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punkcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2008

Poor facilities and noisy at night time.
but breakfast was okay.

  • Liked — location,brakfast
  • Disliked — Facilities,Cleanness
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
Gastown
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
#26 of 49 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Granville Street
Samesun Vancouver
Samesun Vancouver
#3 of 49 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambie Hostel Gastown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambie Hostel Gastown

Property: Cambie Hostel Gastown
Address: 300 Cambie St @ Cordova St | Gastown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2N3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambie Hostel Gastown 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Cambie Hostel Gastown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambie Hostel Gastown Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing