We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Coast Suites at UBC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Coast Suites at UBC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Coast Suites at UBC
Ranked #67 of 95 Hotels in Vancouver
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“West Coast Suites at UBC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My son and I spent 4 nights at the West Coast Suites at UBC in June. We chose this location as the purpose of our trip was to find more permanent accommodations for when he begins classes at UBC in late August/early September. The location was perfect as it gave us a clear idea of distance to the campus, but the room was also clean and comfortable - and with school not in full session, the campus was also fairly quiet and relaxed, which also contributed to the relaxed atmosphere that we encountered on and near campus. And the area that the campus is located is a beautiful area.

As I noted above, the room was clean and comfortable. My son utilized the sofa bed and he made no complaint about its comfort, and the King sized bed in the bedroom was very comfortable. The weather in Vancouver was also in the low 20 degrees celsius so heat/humidity was not an issue (we did not see any air conditioning in the room), but our room was also shaded by some nearby trees. The kitchen was terrific to have and well equipped and while we only used it for breakfast (or to heat up leftovers from a restaurant), it was a nice to have this option. Other reviews did note the bathroom was small and did not include a bathtub (true), but it was modern and everything worked for us.

If your going to spend much of your time in downtown Vancouver (Gastown, Stanley Park, Canada Place, Robson Street, or other attractions), then this location is not your best choice. Bus service is good to many parts of the city, and we found the driving in the traffic to not be too bad, but the campus is approximately 30 to 35 minutes depending upon the time of day to get from the campus to downtown, and that could be worse if there are accidents or construction on a bridge over False Creek. But if you need to be at the campus, or in the West Side of Vancouver, then this is choice worth serious consideration.

And before I close - I want to verify what others have said. There is an additional parking charge that the West Coast Suites will charge you if you have a vehicle. It's $9.50 per day but this is increased once taxes and a Translink fee is added, so expect to be paying around $12.00 a day for parking at this location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    48
    11
    10
    5
See reviews for
40
10
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

close to everything, bus loop, student union, great place to stay for visiting the University. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The kitchen was great for having snacks and breakfast. The cleaning staff were very accomodating as we were in and out all the time and they always made sure to have our room cleaned. I stayed for march break with my 2 children. It was a great visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjchmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed here for a week recently while attending a short course at UBC. The suite was clean and quiet, with everything needed to do one's own cooking etc. King size bed was fairly comfortable but hide-a-bed was not, and at $149.00 per night one would expect a bit better "second bed" arrangement. It was very convenient, but the charge for parking of $9 per day added up over the week. Would probably stay there again, but the cost was definitely an issue, especially added up over multiple nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 373Barb123373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nueva york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was in Vancouver for 20 days. I decided to stay next to the UBS because business. The room was equipped with everything. The view was perfectly nice. Directly to the sea. Indeed, a couple of bald eagles were my neighbors!!!! I really love Vancouver

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarciturnio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

When my parents visit for a longer period, they would stay in this hotel at UBC. I felt that the service was much better a few years ago (Dec 2010, 2011), when they offered basic amenities (tooth brush, tooth paste) and visitor parking. Now, visitors with cars have to pay for street parking which is a walk away from the hotel... and find tooth brush/tooth paste at the Student Union Building! This place is only good if want a good location for visiting friends and family at UBC... but it also helps that the hotel is close to the main bus loop, so you can pretty much get wherever you want from this location!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auntiemafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This place is a steal! We just rented a room w/ a king bed and full kitchen for $119/night, which was a great value. All the room accommodations are great, and the location is good as well. On the UBC campus about a 15 minute drive from downtown Vancouver, BC. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tompdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We like the university setting. It is outside of the downtown and so less frantic. Clean and convenient, with a kitchen, we have meals there with our local groceries. The bed is comfortable and the sitting room a nice convenience for us as a couple. The amenities are nice but not luxurious, with a small, efficient bathroom with shower. A good buy for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jn0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
University Land Endowments
Gage Residence at UBC
Gage Residence at UBC
#71 of 95 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#60 of 95 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#34 of 95 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
University Land Endowments
Ponderosa Suites at UBC
Ponderosa Suites at UBC
#11 of 45 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Suites at UBC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Suites at UBC

Property: West Coast Suites at UBC
Address: 5961 Student Union Blvd, Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 2C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > University Land Endowments
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 95 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — West Coast Suites at UBC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful west side of Vancouver on the spectacular UBC campus, our 47 one-bedroom suites are complemented by the natural setting, attractions and recreational facilities. Shops and restaurants are located within walking distance of the West Coast Suites. Ideal for business travellers and extended stay visitors, each well-appointed suite (450 sq ft/ 41.8 sq m) features fully-equipped kitchen, flat panel TV, in-room safe, complimentary WiFi, balcony, luxury linens, Starbucks coffee, king size bed in bedroom and queen sofa-bed in living room. Accessible suites available. Onsite laundry facilities and parking for a nominal fee. Fitness centre and aquatic centre nearby for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your West Coast Suites at UBC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coast Suites At Ubc Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing