We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Relaxed accommodations on the UBC campus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Coast Suites at UBC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Coast Suites at UBC
Ranked #67 of 95 Hotels in Vancouver
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxed accommodations on the UBC campus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This place is a steal! We just rented a room w/ a king bed and full kitchen for $119/night, which was a great value. All the room accommodations are great, and the location is good as well. On the UBC campus about a 15 minute drive from downtown Vancouver, BC. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tompdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    48
    11
    10
    5
See reviews for
40
10
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We like the university setting. It is outside of the downtown and so less frantic. Clean and convenient, with a kitchen, we have meals there with our local groceries. The bed is comfortable and the sitting room a nice convenience for us as a couple. The amenities are nice but not luxurious, with a small, efficient bathroom with shower. A good buy for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jn0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you are visiting your kid at UBC, or visiting UBC on business, this is really the best place to stay because it is right on campus and quite comfortable. I have stayed 3 times and plan to return every time I am at UBC. If you are expecting to stay in downtown Vancouver, think again: this is outside of downtown although there is parking, and excellent bus service to the city is nearby (20-30 minutes). Units are one bedroom suites with a comfortable king bed, and there is a pull-out couch in the living room, so it can fit a family. There is a small TV in the living room; there is none in the bedroom. The bathroom is small but perfectly adequate, and the same goes of the kitchen, which has a full stove, coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge, sink, and dishes. Don't expect room service, a pool and sauna, or any of those hotel amenities, although there is daily maid service. There does not appear to be AC, but Vancouver does not usually get very hot in the summer and there is a fan. There is parking for a reasonable fee, and the room is reasonably priced. In October 2013 we paid $135 a night, plus $15 a night for parking, plus taxes.

Room Tip: TIP: If college is in session, the students can get rowdy on weekends well into the wee hours. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrSchmincke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you have business at UBC. The kitchens are well-equipped, the space is ample with leather chair and couch, great light, windows that open and west coast air. The small apartment is well appointed with the usual 'good hotel' amenities: iron/board, high quality coffee, nice bathrooms and king bed. Given the lack of good food options on campus, this option is even better because of kitchen for longer stays, though one would need to get her/his own groceries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here because we had a wedding at Brock House nearby. It is located in the Walter Gage Student tower area and the room are suites that have been refurbished. They target people who are coming to UBC for conferences. My wife went to UBC so it brought back many good memories being back on the campus. It is next door to the bus loop so if you don't have a car transport downtown is right there. The rate was $191.00 including parking and all taxes so very reasonable compared to downtown rates and only 15 minutes away.
The new double pane windows combined with a large ceiling fan and living room fan make up for the lack of air conditioning. The room ending in even numbers all face the courtyard so make sure you ask for them as very quiet. We had a large shower stall which was fine. The full kitchen was well appointed. There is a small store and ATM machine located in the building next door which is also where you check in at the student services desk. Parking is only $9.00 and you have reserved spots for the building. White Spot and Starbucks about a block away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room ending in an even number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RazTazBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My sister and I stayed at West Coast Suites because we needed a two-bedroom option. She stayed in the bedroom and I on the sofa bed in the living room. For university accommodation, the apartment was well furnished and nicely decorated. Hair dryer, iron and even an chess set was provided. The toiletries in the bathroom were of good quality. We stayed for 3 days and really enjoyed the benefits of an apartment, fully equipped. Breakfast was included -- it was cafeteria style but we really enjoyed the food, which was plentiful. We paid extra for parking, which wasn't great, but at $9 per day, who can complain. Service was unobtrusive. We thought it a good deal. The campus provides lovely walks, museums and some modest but good restaurants. We took my step-daughter to school and were happy to stay on campus.

Room Tip: The location of West Coast Suites is quite private, but probably better to stay in rooms on the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed for one night at the West Coast Suites on the UBC campus while visiting our son & wish we'd booked for longer. Clean, comfortable, easy to find, helpful check in. My husband & I found the king sized bed incredibly comfy & our teenage daughter (who likes her sleep) found the pull out couch one of the best beds she'd slept on in our 10 day trip! I had read in other reviews that these apartments were too hot - however, the large ceiling fan in the bedroom & the other table fans that were in the closets were more than enough to keep us cool in late July. We didn't try the breakfast which was included in the room rate, but there was Starbucks coffee in the kitchenette and a fantastic coffee shop - The Great Dane - just around the corner. If all 3 of us were visiting for longer, I might consider trying to book a 2 bedroom apartment, to give our daughter a bit more privacy - but all in all, a great find & very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonaldToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
University Land Endowments
Gage Residence at UBC
Gage Residence at UBC
#70 of 95 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#60 of 95 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#34 of 95 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
University Land Endowments
Ponderosa Suites at UBC
Ponderosa Suites at UBC
#11 of 45 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Suites at UBC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Suites at UBC

Property: West Coast Suites at UBC
Address: 5961 Student Union Blvd, Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 2C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > University Land Endowments
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 95 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — West Coast Suites at UBC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful west side of Vancouver on the spectacular UBC campus, our 47 one-bedroom suites are complemented by the natural setting, attractions and recreational facilities. Shops and restaurants are located within walking distance of the West Coast Suites. Ideal for business travellers and extended stay visitors, each well-appointed suite (450 sq ft/ 41.8 sq m) features fully-equipped kitchen, flat panel TV, in-room safe, complimentary WiFi, balcony, luxury linens, Starbucks coffee, king size bed in bedroom and queen sofa-bed in living room. Accessible suites available. Onsite laundry facilities and parking for a nominal fee. Fitness centre and aquatic centre nearby for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your West Coast Suites at UBC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coast Suites At Ubc Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing