We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite mediocre at high prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Coast Suites at UBC
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Quite mediocre at high prices”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Of course, one can decide to stay in a student dormitory room for 180 dollars per night, with no reception and no services available and the only telephone number given pointing to an office that closes at 6 pm. But then, one can as well stay elsewhere. Even though the West Coast Suites may be nicely located for a visit of the UBC, maybe the latter is a good idea.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlkoreander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UBCConferences, Manager at West Coast Suites at UBC, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I would like to express our most sincere apologies that our phone system in our front office malfunctioned which prohibited us from attending to you call. The system has since been repaired so that our evening staff can answer phone calls. While the West Coast Suites is located adjacent to student residence, they are dedicated to hotel guests and are not used by students. Again, our apologies and thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    62
    12
    12
    5
See reviews for
49
17
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mareno di Piave, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I've lived for nine months both at the West Coast Suites and Gage Towers back in 2009, and I would recommend it to everybody visiting Vancouver. The staff has always been lovely and helpful, every problem solved in just a moment. The connection to Van's Downtown is excellent, bus loop just across the street. Comfortable and clean rooms, the cleaning staff is always at your disposal and very kind. Definitely an A, also for the room's rates which are definitely cheap compared to the Downtown ones. Hope to be back there!

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face the bus loop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pietroguzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for five nights and then again for five nights a week later. Our room was 3001 which was easy to access, quiet and with a very nice view into a landscaped area. The bedroom separate from the sitting room was very comfortable and useful (with a kitchenette that we did not need but which had everything you would need if you were eating in).

The room was very clean and well maintained with the only very minor downside being an external building security light that was on all night and added some unnecessary light into the room - but that made late night access to the building very easy.

We would thoroughly recommend the accomodation to people with business at UBC (which was the case for us) or those wanting to enjoy a little campus life without being right in the middle of campus. Walks around the area are very good. It is too removed from downtown if that is the only reason for being in Vancouver although airport access is very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing the bus interchange (such as 3001).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairbutselective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent three nights at the West Coast Suites and were delighted with the size of the room, quality of the decor and campus location. The complimentary breakfast was an unexpected extra, but very basic and served in the student union. Bed was very comfortable and free wifi a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Hotel suite was spacious and nice. Couldn't ask for a better location. Vancouver is truly a beautiful city and UBC is a great campus. Only downfall is the lack of wireless availability in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsalot1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I attended a conference on the UBC campus. My husband joined me because there were so many things to do around the university and in Vancouver. We stayed in two different locations on the campus: the Marine Drive Residence #5 and the Walter Gage suites. We moved because of the bed in the Marine Drive Residence; it was only full size and not firm enough for two. Also there was no television in the room. The Walter Gage was more expensive but more comfortable for two. The queen size bed was fairly firm, which we like, nice linens and pillows. There was free internet cable, but no wi-fi except in the lobby. Initially we had planned to move into Vancouver when the conference ended -- but the campus environment was so pleasant that we just stayed put. Note that we were there during the summer session. We visited the Museum of Anthropology (twice), the BioDiversity Museum, and the Botanical Gardens with the amazing walkway in the trees. There is also a gym on campus which visitors can use for a daily fee. The public transportation into Vancouver was amazing - we only needed a taxi to get to the airport for our Sunday very early morning departure. In the city we visited Standley Park and the aquarium, Granville Island and just walked around downtown - it's very foot friendly. The Canadians must have been at the front of the line when God handed out the "friendly and nice" genes. We are adventurous and staying at UBC was a great location for us. Negatives: UBC is really far from the ferry to Vancouver Island; if you are using public transportation it's more than a day trip. Also, the breakfast, which was included, was dorm food. Very basic and boring.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalifCoupleSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Second time staying on UBC campus. For C139 you get a pretty, modern suite (easily sleeps three adults or two adults and two young kids) with sitting room (and sleeper sofa), kitchenette, wifi, cheap parking, and super comfortable king size bed. Just a few blocks from the coast - stayed our first time for easy access to beaches for summer fireworks. The management is very gracious, and let us shorten our reservation on very limited notice for no charge. Fun to be on a college campus. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for room on second floor to avoid being right on the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IDK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
University Land Endowments
Gage Residence at UBC
Gage Residence at UBC
#68 of 92 in Vancouver
81 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
864 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Suites at UBC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Suites at UBC

Property: West Coast Suites at UBC
Address: 5961 Student Union Blvd, Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 2C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > University Land Endowments
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Coast Suites at UBC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful west side of Vancouver on the spectacular UBC campus, our 47 one-bedroom suites are complemented by the natural setting, attractions and recreational facilities. Shops and restaurants are located within walking distance of the West Coast Suites. Ideal for business travellers and extended stay visitors, each well-appointed suite (450 sq ft/ 41.8 sq m) features fully-equipped kitchen, flat panel TV, in-room safe, complimentary WiFi, balcony, luxury linens, Starbucks coffee, king size bed in bedroom and queen sofa-bed in living room. Accessible suites available. Onsite laundry facilities and parking for a nominal fee. Fitness centre and aquatic centre nearby for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your West Coast Suites at UBC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coast Suites At Ubc Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing