We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully updated 1912 home in quiet neighbourhood (with corkscrew museum!)”
Review of Corkscrew Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corkscrew Inn
Ranked #7 of 56 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We chose the Corkscrew Inn on a whim, partly due to the corkscrew museum, but also for the reasonable rates and proximity to downtown Vancouver. We were more than pleasantly surprised... we were tremendously satisfied. The entire home was rebuilt so that it retains its 1912 character inside and out, but with none of the negatives of an old home. All the interior wood, flooring, paneling was removed and replaced where necessary. Stained glass with corkscrew and wine motifs are throughout the home, along with a beautiful corkscrew mosaic tile on the floor of the museum. Electrical and plumbing upgrades have made it very pleasant to stay, while the radiant heat from the floor kept us toasty during very cold days and nights. We were always comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful (allowances were made for vegetarians or vegans, and also for food allergies, not something that is universal for B&Bs). We were able to wirelessly connect to a printer (paper and ink provided), while a laptop was available for those who did not bring their own. It is an easy walk to the waterfront in the Kitslano neighbourhood, an area of very nice homes that have retained their character well, with many shops and restaurants only two short blocks away. Longer walks will get you to many of the best areas of Vancouver, without straining the body. The company of other guests was a highlight, as we talked for hours. We have made new friends of these guests, which can also be rare at B&Bs. The proprietors were helpful, pleasant, suggested options for sightseeing, and were also very interesting to engage in conversation. We will definitely return in the future and highly recommend the Corkscrew Inn to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlinkeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 274 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2011

The Corkscrew Inn is a beautifully restored original Kitsilano home- all the modern conveniences you could want with all the charm of a turn of the century home. The location is great and everything seemed close and easy to get to. The Inn is comfortable and every detail is thought of. The Innkeeper is knowledgeable and friendly and makes an incredible breakfast every morning. Make sure to check out the corkscrew collection in the wine room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missgayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

Karin made every effort to make our week long stay comfortable, and cozy. This inn went above a beyond. We felt like we were home sitting in front of the fire. Food was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripper19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

The title says it all. The experience of staying at the Corkscrew Inn was marvellous. Karen was very welcoming and also very helpful from showing us where to catch public transport to giving information about different destinations. My wife and I stayed in the Arizona room which was very comfortable and homely. In fact the whole set up was very homely. We chose The Corkscrew Inn for the location in Kitsilano, just ten minutes walk from our sons accommodation, the previous reviews, price and my wife fell in love with the stained glass windows as seen on their web site. When Karen had her days off, she deserved them, Wayne took over the helm and he was also very helpful. During the ten days we stayed there were ten different breakfasts served, all very enjoyable and to a high standard. Thank you Karen and Wayne for a very enjoyable stay. If we come back to Vancouver we will definitely book with you again and recommend it to anyone who wants a very high standard B & B

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank philandviki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

The best things about the Corkscrew Inn are its location in Kitsilano, the careful restoration
of a 1912 Arts and Crafts house and Karen, the manager / housekeeper / cook. Our room was a bit small (the French); nevertheless, quiet and comfortable. There is a large sitting room with an outdoor veranda sitting area, good for reading the morning paper. The location is perfect for visits to UBC: Museum of Anthropology,Botanical Garden, Nitobe Japanese Memorial Garden; Kits restaurants and shops; Granville Island. and the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcsOntarioCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

This is our second stay at the Corkscrew and just like great wine it gets even better with age. A big thank you to Wayne and Karen for great Canadian hospitality and comfort.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SusanHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Corkscrew Inn is a delightful B&B with the twist of having themed rooms and a unique collection of antique corkscrews not to mention a purpose-built wine cellar. The house has been refurbished as a guest house with the owners living close by. We stayed in the Arizona Room which is roomy with a patio off it. The bathroom has the signature corkscrew stained glass window. The breakfasts are legendary! During the five days we were there we had a different breakfast each morning with the hot dishes being substantial and quite enough without fruit and cereals and other offerings. Corkscrew Inn is located just around the corner from a regular bus service into the CBD and is within walking distance of good shops. The Inn is quiet and the owners and housekeeper are excellent hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi13john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,825 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,041 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 56 in Vancouver
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Douglas Guest House
Douglas Guest House
#11 of 56 in Vancouver
107 reviews
West End
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Shaughnessy
Windsor Guest House
Windsor Guest House
#14 of 56 in Vancouver
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corkscrew Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corkscrew Inn

Address: 2735 2nd Ave W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6K 1K2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Kitsilano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: $100 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage corkscrews everywhere, private wine museum, dozens of stained glass windows, antiques and curios: you might not want to tear yourself away to explore the beaches, parks, shops and restaurants only steps away. We love this historic and eclectic part of Vancouver and wouldn’t live anywhere else. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing