We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique B and B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corkscrew Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corkscrew Inn
Ranked #7 of 50 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Corkscrew Inn is a wonderful little B and B and we loved the Kitsilano neighborhood. Our room was nice and the bed comfortable. The stained glass windows throughout--with a corkscrew theme--are beautiful. We appreciated having a refrigerator available for guests as well as beach towels and other things guests might forget. As one reviewer said, parking can be a problem but we were lucky with that the first day and used public transportation while we were there. Breakfasts were great! We would definitely stay there again.

One thing to be aware of--we could hear everything from nearby rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toristterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    21
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
175
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Completely renovated and custom-built as a B & B about 7 years ago that's run by the owner Wayne (who you guessed it, loves cockscrews!! and has a wicked sense of humor) and live-in manager (Karen, who doubles up as gourmet breakfast cook, is a fountain of local knowledge).

The location is fantastic with bus stops at corner of 4th Ave and MacDonald as well as Broadway and MacDonald (99 Bus that goes west to UBC and east to Broadway-City Hall Canada line station at Cambie to YVR). Its close to the seawall in beautiful Kitsilano, and one can walk along the seawall to Granville Island (at least 30mins).

The place is immaculate and super clean. The lounge, breakfast room and Edwardian room are on the main floor. French, British India and Art Deco are upstairs, and Arizona is downstairs at the back. I stayed for 6 nights in the Arizona suite and it has beautiful stain glass French doors that open onto its own small patio that faces the garage. In general, it was very quiet with occasional noise from Edwardian room above owing to timber floors. The room is a reasonable size with a small sitting area, small heater, cupboard and desk. There is a small TV (don't expect a large LCD). The bathroom is adequate.

Breakfast was at 8am during my stay, was delicious and all the guests sat at a large dining table which was very nice to meet other guests. There's tea, coffee, cookies and other small nibbles available all day on the side-board in the dining room. Edwardian room opens into the dining room, so avoid it if you're wanting to sleep in.

Overall, had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and highly recommended. Every little detail has been thought of to make your stay comfortable. If you're wanting to get away from downtown and hotel chains, this place is it.

PS: don't forget to check out the mini museum of cockscrews (next to Arizona suite). It's amazing!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

The amenities were one of the most memorable as compared to other b&b's, they have thought of everything. We stayed on the 2nd floor in the Arizona room and just outside the room is a large cupboard with a mini fridge and all kinds of bits in case you forget something. The attention to detail really impressed me and it shows in the upkeep of the property. This home is very, very clean and the decor is excellent. There is a short time window for breakfast as compared to other b&b's but it was explained to us on check in. All in all a great choice and I would go back and recommend to anyone looking for an "upscale b&b. It is an excellent location and while we did manage parking out on the street its tight so if you're driving be prepared for that. The owner cooked breakfast for us the 3 mornings we were there and he is a great cook and takes a lot of care in preparation and taste.

Room Tip: Arizona room was spacious and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torontoshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Just a brief stay here as we were heading down the coast to Seattle. Parking could be problematic at times but the B+B is close enough to have a good walk in to the city. Liked the 'vibe' in Kitsilano, nice neighbourhood.

I think our room was the Arizona as we had an outside patio. A decent sized room and breakfast was ok. The decor in the inn is interesting - makes a change from staying in large, impersonal chain hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights at this wonderful B&B. Karen was exceptionally friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was varied to perfection. The house has been beautifully renovated and is in a great neighbourhood close to beach walks, transport and restaurants. We easily caught the bus downtown and to the University of British Columbia. Karen was always happy to assist with sightseeing tips and this local knowledge made our stay even more memorable. Thank you for such a wonderful experience in this very beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MezzieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at the Corkscrew for 4 nights in March 2012. We found the entire experience lovely. From delicious and interesting breakfasts to clean and inviting rooms, this bnb has it all. An interesting collection of corkscrews and pretty stained glass windows add to the ambiance. This beautifully restored home will invite you in and once you meet Karen the manager and Wayne the owner you will surely want to return again and again. I know we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corkscrewinn, Owner at Corkscrew Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
We appreciate your taking the time to write such lovely comments, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Beautiful clean room and bath. Great neighbourhood. Our room had an odor of sewage, which was probably a temporary problem. We arrived very late and were unable to attend the 30 minute breakfast window due to obvious health problems due to cancer treatment. It would have been nice to be offered a breakfast tray, "brown bag" to go, or even juice and toast. The manager's only concern seemed to be for me to sign the Visa. We left a few hours before check out so not sure why the rushed feeling. Maybe she was just having a bad day. But unfriendly and maybe shouldn't be working at this job. Usually B and B's are a nice experience with wonderfully pleasant staff. The house was wonderful, the feeling could have been nicer. We felt rushed out, unwelcome and very disappointed. Suggest the owners have a talk with the manager. I'd recommend the property, not the staff. A few moments of pleasant help really sets the tone of a B and B.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corkscrewinn, Owner at Corkscrew Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
I appreciate your complimentary comments on our house and neighbourhood. Our proximity to parks and beaches makes skunk sightings (and smellings) common. You are not the first visitors to mistake the odour of a skunk for something even less pleasant.
Our goal is for everyone’s visit to be perfect. Given advance notice of special requirements, we do all we can do accommodate them. Guests who opt out of the hot breakfast during the hours it is served, and who have not arranged for the continental option, will still find hot and cold cereal, fruit, yogurt, tea and coffee available at any hour of the day. As a result of your review we will improve communication to make this even clearer to guests who check in well after hours. But I don’t understand how your departure “a few hours before” our 11:00am check out did not coincide with the breakfast service.
Of greater concern to me is your description of our general manager as “unfriendly.” The comments of every other person who has written in our guest book, filled in a guest feedback form or left a TripAdvisor review contradict this characterization unequivocally. I am sorry you felt unwelcome; I can’t imagine a cause for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Granville Island & Fairview
Granville Island Hotel
Granville Island Hotel
#19 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 50 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
West End
English Bay Inn
English Bay Inn
#6 of 50 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
West End
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corkscrew Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corkscrew Inn

Property: Corkscrew Inn
Address: 2735 2nd Ave W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6K 1K2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Kitsilano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage corkscrews everywhere, private wine museum, dozens of stained glass windows, antiques and curios: you might not want to tear yourself away to explore the beaches, parks, shops and restaurants only steps away. We love this historic and eclectic part of Vancouver and wouldn’t live anywhere else. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing