We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice servers & fresh food”
Review of Abode Restaurant

Abode Restaurant
Ranked #113 of 3,749 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $21
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Neighborhood: Robson Street
Description: We are modern comfort food restaurant, coffee and cocktail bar located in downtown Vancouver. ABODE is inspired by the modern and classic clean lines of mid century design and the concept of comfort food.At ABODE, we create in-house dishes from scratch that evoke a sense of connection to our past, making all of us feel warm and connected. Our menu consists of dishes we can all relate to but with a modern twist: by using fresh, locally-sourced healthy ingredients. Our coffee house is also a perfect place for locals on Robson Street to hang out. ABODE offers Elysian Coffee beans. We are proud to be with Ocean Wise. We use only sustainable seafood products. Sit at the bar, in our lounge or on the 42 seat patio and enjoy a cocktail, wine or beer of your choice.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Super nice servers & fresh food”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I've had two meals here, one for breakfast at about 8am and a snack at around 3pm. Server Natalie was really friendly, nice and professional. Breakfast was granola and yogurt, with fruit, fresh and tasty. Snack was a B.C. cheese plate. Fresh cheese, crunchy crostini, nice dried fruit, good portion, good variety of cheeses. The only thing is probably the small selection of menu items, but the food they do have is good! I would come back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    109
    34
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pathetic on every level”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we were seated I knew we were in for a bad experience. This place was last choice for us because the Vancouver breakfast scene is already pathetic and we were getting at things a little late (around 10 am) on a Sunday so the odds were against us.

The place looked fresh and inviting and was busy but no lineup, so score. The woman who seated us looked and acted vacuous but got us a table right away, only to walk away immediately to busy herself with clearing tables. Waitresses were milling around us, but rather than looking competent they were being grabbed by random diners asking for random things. Disorganized and disturbing. We waited 20 minutes to be acknowledged. No coffee, no water, no "I'll be right with you". Even White Spot exceeds at this point.

We finally had a waitress lean in with cigarette breath and we ordered everything at once. The food came relatively quickly but it wasn't good. The bacon was waved in front of the frying pan, limp and mushy. The poached eggs were hard and the hot sauce was Tabasco. What is this, 1975?

Paying the bill turned into another waiting game so we revisited our seater, who said "hi, table for two?" Ugh.

Cigarette breath spotted us and took our money and we got the fudge out of there.

Never again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juicenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Breakfast Spot”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

While the menu does not have a tremendous amount of selection the food was good. I ate here after running in the Vancouver Marathon and wanted something filling. I had the oatmeal and pancakes - the serving sizes were good and reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vegaskev72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Salads”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I ate alone at a window booth. Great people watching and the salad was spectacular! A very large Cobb salad with their signature chicken--delicious!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank csimmonsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Learned not to eat on Robson with this one.”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

The service was pleasant and my friend and I chose this place because we wanted to people watch but the location wasn't worth the food.

It wasn't terrible but with so many choices I wouldn't eat here again. The soup was extremely salty and the halibut was a bit on the dry side. Their menu items overall seemed like good ideas but generally not that well executed. Average at best.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SibinaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abode Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Abode Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing