We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blackbird - "nearly" a Donnelly Group departure.”

The Blackbird Public House & Oyster Bar
Ranked #758 of 3,751 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Blackbird - "nearly" a Donnelly Group departure.”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Donnelly Group owns and operates pubs, restaurants and nightclubs in Vancouver and the standard of their operations is generally high. They can at times struggle to offer a truly unique eating experience being a real departure from their standard core menus and I think that Blackbird is a good attempt to do so.
Staff training and management are always high at all their operations and the Blackbird is the same and wants to cater to a more tattooed and coifed employee.
Menu is substantial and varied with some interesting variations on old themes. “Eggs” section has a very good corned beef hash with, Yukon gold potatoes and the Yarrow meadows duck breast is notable also as is the confit salad.
Would recommend as an alternative to Cactus on Granville.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koolkookaburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    19
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“For beer and ambiance”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We went to the Blackbird for drinks as a group for a visiting friend from out-of-town. They have many varieties of craft beers that taste sensibly the same one from the other. Our mistake was to decide to stay for dinner. The menu is scant and the food bland. Might be okay if you have affinity for dark beers at pick-up joints.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Level Contributor
708 reviews
444 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Nice barber shop”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Next to the restaurant they have set up a barber and hair salon, great idea!
In this cosy place, the service is professional and efficient, and spending 50minutes there for a cut and a shave was quite relaxing,
A recommended place to discover.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClubGGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood, Great Service”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stopped here a few times to split a dozen oysters and have drinks. (Try the Duinsmore Gin and Tonic or The Wimbledon) Each time the waitress was very friendly and took the time to explain each type of oyster in the selection we were given. We also had dinner here (Coho Salmon - perfect!) and while it was a little loud, that just added to the atmosphere as it was a Friday night, after all. We'll definitely be going back to Vancouver in the future and when we do we'll be heading straight for the Blackbird!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soygirlColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We really enjoyed dinner and drinks at this pub.

The music could be turned down a notch or two, and we ordered a selection of oysters but they were not identified to us when served, but otherwise the food was fantastic. We enjoyed the steak frites (so decadently rich), the duck breast, oysters, sweetbreads,and a tasty chocolate cake. Everything was perfectly prepared. I was a little disappointed in the beer selection, but that is more personal preference than anything else.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SyunSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackbird Public House & Oyster Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Blackbird Public House & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing