We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service But Very Tiny and Expensive”

Mario's Coffee Express
Ranked #24 of 227 Coffee & Tea in Vancouver
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Reviewed November 24, 2015 via mobile

$16 for tea latte and a tuna melt. Yikes! I don't see any prices posted.

The food and tea was good (not spectacular enough to come back though). The atmosphere is such that you want to just eat and run - hence the name "express".

Mario is a delightful man. Very customer service oriented. He seems to know his regulars and is very friendly.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank AnonymousPurveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 85 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2015

Mario has an excellent reputation for serving the best coffee in Vancouver and we weren't disappointed, great value for money along with snacks and a friendly welcome, he opened before his advertised time for us when we were waiting, not huge inside but worth seeking out.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WinteringhamSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 14, 2015

This lovely little coffee shop was just down the hill from our hotel and we stopped here for a take-out coffee a good few times during our time in Vancouver.

Really friendly place, with staff who seem to greet many of their regulars by name and serve a wonderful brew as well!

I would recommend this place over any of the chains any day!

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nilly71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 22, 2015

I am pretty picky about restaurants & as a vegan , not many cater to our needs . So a coffee shop was the last place I thought I would rave about . The sign outside Marios says "best coffee in Vancouver " Well I think they could change that to "best coffee in the world "LOL . When you order coffee , they actually ask how strong you like it !!! As we are strong coffee drinkers we find most coffee places just awful , but Marios really was the BEST !! Also asked if they could make us veggie sandwiches , which they did with no problem , perhaps a little heavy on the mustard I had requested instead of butter , but still a good fresh toasted veg sandwich , served very graciously . Nice to hear some decent music also instead of having to listen to some awful noise !! Will deff go back on my trips downtown Vancouver !!

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank annette487
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 20, 2015

A charming, cozy little shop where you can get a quick bite and great cup of coffee. Perfect for a traveler on their way to something else. Very few seats.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Coffee Express also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Mario's Coffee Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.